Easy Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy and oh so easy. The only thing I would add to the instructions is to cook the stems first, then add the leaves a few minutes later. That way, the stems aren't over-cooking while you are waiting for the stems to get cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is a perfectly written recipe. Easy execution and just a few, basic ingredients lend an elegant simplicity I appreciate. I used grapeseed oil rather than vegetable oil, basically because I had it on hand to use. I also did not cook the garlic in the oil (never do). I added it to the bok choy about half way through the cooking time. I'm happy to be the first to review this delicious and dependable side dish which I served with Asian Grilled Chicken and Classic Fried Rice, recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this with one head of regular (not baby) bok choy and two cloves crushed garlic. It really wasn't enough so I added a bunch of spinich. It was SO simple and delicious, with and without the spinich. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner and everyone enjoyed it. It is important to cook the white part of the bok choy first as the leaf part cooks quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was a strech for me as I have never ventured into bok choy before. I used a nonstick pan and about a tablespoon of olive oil. Followed the suggestions cooking the white pieces with the garlic which I grated over the top, first. I also grated in a bit of fresh ginger. When they were softened I added the greens and let them steam uncovered until wilted. Stiring occasionally. I sprinkled some sea salt on when served. The results were great. Light, crunchy, quite tasty and my husband agreed. We will do this again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise LeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is simply delicious! I added four cloves of garlic since we love anything with garlic. I also powedered in some ginger powder since I didn't have any fresh root. I've seen people in China put tiny slivers of spicy red pepper in their bok choy to heat it up a bit. I would think you could even add red pepper flakes to it too and it would be fabulous! Thank you for an excellent base for bok choy. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
5 stars for ease and simplicity of making it. I used regular bok choy instead of baby bok choy as the price difference is horrendous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great simple recipe. I drizzled about 1/3 of a soy sauce packet over the bok choy in the last mintue of cooking instead of adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christy247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My wife and I enjoyed this very much. Simple and easy. Next time I might skip the salt and add some chicken stock. I liked one of the comments to cook the stems first and then add the top part so it cooked evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very easy recipe. Didn't need to change a thing and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States