Easy Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is a perfectly written recipe. Easy execution and just a few, basic ingredients lend an elegant simplicity I appreciate. I used grapeseed oil rather than vegetable oil, basically because I had it on hand to use. I also did not cook the garlic in the oil (never do). I added it to the bok choy about half way through the cooking time. I'm happy to be the first to review this delicious and dependable side dish which I served with Asian Grilled Chicken and Classic Fried Rice, recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is simply delicious! I added four cloves of garlic since we love anything with garlic. I also powedered in some ginger powder since I didn't have any fresh root. I've seen people in China put tiny slivers of spicy red pepper in their bok choy to heat it up a bit. I would think you could even add red pepper flakes to it too and it would be fabulous! Thank you for an excellent base for bok choy. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this with one head of regular (not baby) bok choy and two cloves crushed garlic. It really wasn't enough so I added a bunch of spinich. It was SO simple and delicious, with and without the spinich. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this recipe - he thought the greens tasted like broccoli. I liked it, but not as much as I like salads made with raw bok choi. I did add some mushrooms and I think it would be good with onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Not a dish we will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Perfect! I needed something quick and tasty but not competing with the main dish tonight. The prep, and sauté time took mere minutes to cook up the baby bok choy and it was done. I seasoned with a little Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. Simple and delicious! It still had the nice green color and was tender crisp. I served this with, “Japanese Ginger Pork,” and “Oriental Green Bean Salad,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I never knew how to make bok choy until I made it this way. My husband and I now make it a regular vegetable! It cannot get simpler than this - and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great simple recipe. I drizzled about 1/3 of a soy sauce packet over the bok choy in the last mintue of cooking instead of adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy and oh so easy. The only thing I would add to the instructions is to cook the stems first, then add the leaves a few minutes later. That way, the stems aren't over-cooking while you are waiting for the stems to get cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner and everyone enjoyed it. It is important to cook the white part of the bok choy first as the leaf part cooks quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States