Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Whatever you do, DO NOT use fat free cream cheese, it doesn't look right, but it still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I had made these years ago and forgot how good these are! These are amazing and so easy and impressive too! Thanks for the tip on doubling the cream cheese mixture. There would never have been enough without doubling. I made these for a family reunion and they were a hit! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
We all know that Betty Crocker always turns out so this was a quick cake mix with a twist, thanks! i plan to use thsi recipe in the nursery that I work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wynyard, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
These cupcakes are very moist and delicious. They're a real treat that my whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
These were a great hit with the kids and adults. And they are quick and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I was told by my stepson that the whole class enjoyed these! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! I usually bake from scratch but I ran out of time. I'll use this recipe from now on. They were fantastic!! Disappeard quick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very impressed with these. I grew up with these cupcakes and never realized they were a regional thing until I moved. I used a devil's food mix with pudding in it and they came out very moist. I would suggest doubling the cream cheese topping because these are supposed to be more half cupcake/half cream cheese mix rather than just a bit on top. And let them cool before you judge them - these are an exception to the 'tastes best right out of the oven'. My boyfriend took a double batch (48 cupcakes) and they were gone by the time he came into work the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made these delicious cupcakes for a family reunion, and they were a big hit. I did not have a devil's food cake mix, so I used german chocolate. I also added 1/2 c. chopped pecans and 1/2 c. carmel ice cream topping to the cream cheese mixture. The kids really loved it! Thanks Roberta for sharing a quick and easy dessert! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lipan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
These were very good. I doubled up on the cream cheese mixture like many suggested. I think next time though I will not use such a choclatey choclate cake mix..I'm not a huge choc-aholic.Thanks for bringing back childhood memories from my grandma as she used to make these for me all the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States