Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
delicious, but definately need to double the cream cheese part. here's a recipe for that part: 2 packages cream cheese, 1 c. sugar, 1 egg, 1 tsp. vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Before reading everyone's reviews I baked these cupcakes following the recipe exactly. I thought it was strange that a cheesecake recipe had no eggs, but I thought I'd give it a whirl. My adivce is follow the recommendations of just about eveyone else and get your own cheesecake recipe for the topping. The topping on this recipe is nothing but sugar and sinks into the cupcakes and hardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I've made these a couple of times, a couple of different ways. I prefer them without the egg added to the cream cheese. I've also tried them with semi-sweet and white chips. The semi-sweet melt fast so the cupcakes have a gooey center (yum!). With the white chips, you end up biting into them and I don't like that. I also add a little vanilla extract to the cake mix so it doesn't taste so much like boxed cake. I think next time I'll make the cake from scratch. These would be great with red velvet cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The title says it all! These were the easiest dessert I have made in ages. I did as others suggested and doubled the cream cheese and added 1c sugar, 1egg and 1tsp vanilla. I also used the mini chips as well. The results were perfection. So moist and delicious. Best if refigerated till at least chilled. My guests devoured them! I only gave it 4 stars because of the additions. With the changes it's 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I'm a sucker for recipes with a cake mix. And this couldn't be easier! However, it needed to bake longer than the recipe called for. I also doubled the cream cheese, as other reviews suggested. And added 1 egg. That gave it the cream cheese filling taste I was expecting. Good for a last minute solution, if you have the ingred's on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty, but I do have one problem...not enough of the cream cheese filling! The recipe doesn't state how much of the cream cheese mixture to put on top of each cupcake. I used a dollop on top of each one and it really wasn't enough. Plus I had enough cake mix left to bake another dozen plain cupcakes. I'd make this again but double the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These cupcakes were easy and tasty. I thought that they were better the next morning. I used 1/2 cup sugar and one egg instead original recipe. They were good, but almost missing something on top, but I think that icing would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These cupcakes were delicious and easy. They made more than 2 dozen but that depends on how much you put in the paper liners. I personally would have liked more cream cheese filling in them. I will certainly make them again but I may use mini semisweet chocolate chips instead and make more cream cheese filling. Great bake sale item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Whatever you do, DO NOT use fat free cream cheese, it doesn't look right, but it still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
We all know that Betty Crocker always turns out so this was a quick cake mix with a twist, thanks! i plan to use thsi recipe in the nursery that I work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wynyard, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States