Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
These cupcakes are very moist and delicious. They're a real treat that my whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
These were a great hit with the kids and adults. And they are quick and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I was told by my stepson that the whole class enjoyed these! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! I usually bake from scratch but I ran out of time. I'll use this recipe from now on. They were fantastic!! Disappeard quick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Whatever you do, DO NOT use fat free cream cheese, it doesn't look right, but it still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These cupcakes were easy and tasty. I thought that they were better the next morning. I used 1/2 cup sugar and one egg instead original recipe. They were good, but almost missing something on top, but I think that icing would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty, but I do have one problem...not enough of the cream cheese filling! The recipe doesn't state how much of the cream cheese mixture to put on top of each cupcake. I used a dollop on top of each one and it really wasn't enough. Plus I had enough cake mix left to bake another dozen plain cupcakes. I'd make this again but double the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These cupcakes were delicious and easy. They made more than 2 dozen but that depends on how much you put in the paper liners. I personally would have liked more cream cheese filling in them. I will certainly make them again but I may use mini semisweet chocolate chips instead and make more cream cheese filling. Great bake sale item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very impressed with these. I grew up with these cupcakes and never realized they were a regional thing until I moved. I used a devil's food mix with pudding in it and they came out very moist. I would suggest doubling the cream cheese topping because these are supposed to be more half cupcake/half cream cheese mix rather than just a bit on top. And let them cool before you judge them - these are an exception to the 'tastes best right out of the oven'. My boyfriend took a double batch (48 cupcakes) and they were gone by the time he came into work the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Awesome and easy which is important when your a single parent. I changed the cream cheese mixture a bit by adding 1 egg and 1/2 cup white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DREAMER1068

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States