Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I gave these 4 stars since the cream cheese sinks and disappears, even though I added an egg. I made these for a bake sale, so the non-appearance of the filling is a disappointment. Maybe I would bake the cupcake for a few minutes and then add the filling? The recipe made 28-30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Tasted great but I had a problem... It was probably something I did but here goes: I filled the cups 1/3 way full with devil's food and then added a dollop of the cream cheese mixture, as stated. During the cooking process, the cream cheese mixture was enveloped by the devil's food and so the cream cheese mixture sunk to the bottom of the cupcake. (Maybe I beat the mixtures too long or at too high a speed.) (I followed the directions on the box though.) I used a hand mixer...) It's very puzzling. I always put them in the fridge overnight and they taste delicious the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The title says it all! These were the easiest dessert I have made in ages. I did as others suggested and doubled the cream cheese and added 1c sugar, 1egg and 1tsp vanilla. I also used the mini chips as well. The results were perfection. So moist and delicious. Best if refigerated till at least chilled. My guests devoured them! I only gave it 4 stars because of the additions. With the changes it's 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I baked this for my friend who loves the Starbucks Black Bottom Cupcakes, and she loved them. I doubled the cream cheese mixture and used the egg in the cream cheese as suggested. I then used about 1.5 or 2 tablespoons of cream cheese on each cupcake. I also added the 1 tsp vanilla to the cake mix. These were wonderful and relatively easy to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is my second attempt on black bottom cupcakes. they just look so darn good! let me tell you, i think these are better than the "Black Bottom Cupcakes I" here on site. these taste so much lighter and much more modest on the topping. my niece and her pals just devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Definitely make extra cream cheese filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I've made these a couple of times, a couple of different ways. I prefer them without the egg added to the cream cheese. I've also tried them with semi-sweet and white chips. The semi-sweet melt fast so the cupcakes have a gooey center (yum!). With the white chips, you end up biting into them and I don't like that. I also add a little vanilla extract to the cake mix so it doesn't taste so much like boxed cake. I think next time I'll make the cake from scratch. These would be great with red velvet cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I love these because they are so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Delicious. I also doubled the cream cheese filling and it was perfect for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Pretty good, very easy. I would add an egg to the cream cheese mix next time and also soften the cream cheese more, mine was pretty thick and didn't stay on the top of the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States