Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy to make and a very rich chocolate taste, but by themselves they are kind of ugly looking so I just did a basic buttercream to put on top and sprinkled with some mini chocolate chips to dress it up. They were eaten quickly. But they are so rich that most people could only eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love these! The filling is wonderful, took me a batch to get the timing just right in the oven and I put a swirl of butter cream icing on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
this recipe is almost identical to my great grandmothers recipe. i tried this one to see the difference and i would still go with my great grandmothers recipe which doesn't include the chocolate chips and changes the cream cheese recipe to 2 packages cream cheese, 1 cup white sugar, 1 egg, and 1.5 tsp of vanilla. in my opinion, the chocolate chips make it almost too sweet and doesn't showcase the cream cheese as it should. great recipe but i would make some slight alterations=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I used red velvet cake mix and took suggestions from previous reviews and doubled the cream cheese and added an egg to the cream cheese mix. I also used mini choc chips, they turned out delicious!!!! I used a bag and tip to swirl a dollup of whipped cream cheese frosting and added a few mini chips on top and they turned out almost picture perfect! Cupcakes are very moist and yummy as well as quick and easy! I did use unsweetened applesauce in the cake mix to sunstitute for the oil. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I love the recipe it was sooo easy. everyone loved them. I made them for thanksgiving this year. I to use two packs of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These are great with modifications from other reviewers. Mine didn't look anything at all like the picture, my filling sank right into the cupcake. Man, it was so good. I added egg and doubled the cheese cake filling, also added mini chocolate chips. And I always add vanilla to a cake box recipe. I have done this with milk chocolate mix and dark chocolate mix. Next will be red velvet mix. You don't even need frosting on these baby's they are that good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Mini Cupcakes! I made mini cupcakes with this recipe. I added 1 t vanilla, an egg, and a second block of cream cheese like others suggested. I used a cookie scoop to fill the cupcakes -- about 1/2 scoop of cake batter and 1/4 scoop of cream cheese. It made 12 dozen mini cupcakes. I baked them for 5 minutes less than the cake mix box's recommendation for full-sized cupcakes. Because of the smaller size, the cream cheese topping did not sink all the way to the bottom, giving the cupcakes a marbled look. I made them in advance and froze them for about 2 weeks. They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I followed a lot of the other reviewers suggestions and used 2 packages cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup chocolate chips. The result was double the "filling" I needed. I filled my tins by measuring 1/8 cup cake batter, 1/8 cup filling, 1/8 cup batter. The result was 27 cupcakes with enough filling leftover for 24 more cupcakes. I froze my leftover filling on a baking sheet in 1/8 cup amounts for next time, hopefully it's just as tasty after being frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. I had great difficulty spreading the cream cheese mixture over the top, it would sink. Didn't even come close to covering them. The cake mix baked right over the top. The cream cheese was in the middle of cupcakes. I will refrigerate them and see how they taste. I guess if I had two packages of cream cheese it would have helped being able to cover properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Thesed didn't turn out as good as I thought they would but...I must be a tough critic because I took them to a party and everyone loved them.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States