Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I added green pepper and did tomato sauce, not puree. I had a can of refried black beans, but none of the regular, so I ended up doing 1 1/3 cups prepared dried black beans. I'm sure it's better, texture-wise, with the canned ones, but these worked. There's another black bean soup recipe on this site that I like a bit better, but this one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Super fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this kind of stuff, as long as it's spicy like it oughta be. First time I couldn't find refried black beans, so I made it using the Low-Fat Refried Beans recipe on here. Made it again after I found canned refried beans. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth because I never have that around, and I too used tomato sauce because I also never have tomato puree around. Overall I didn't do anything to change the flavor really, which was very good, and was good on a cold day. (Though admittedly, I started getting tired of it after making it twice too close together.) I liked it best with sour cream stirred into it. (In fact, without the sour cream, it's more of a 4.) Oh yes, and it was pretty easy - not a lot of prep other than measuring and dumping into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
An outstanding soup. It was a hit with both vegetarians and omnivores at an office luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Without question the best black bean soup recipe I have ever tasted. What sets this black bean soup apart from the others is the refried black beans. This gives the soup a rich smooth base that I have not found in others. I had trouble finding refried black beans at my grocery so I googled it and made my own. Very simple and very good. I halved the recipe below to make the quantity about equal to that called for in the soup recipe. Amazing soup... This is a must try. Refried Bean Recipe 2 (32-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained 2 cups water 3 tablespoons lard or vegetable oil 1 large onion, diced 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 1 tablespoon cumin Puree 2 cans of black beans in 2 cups water in food processor. Heat the lard or other fat in a large saucepan over medium heat. Saute the onions with the salt and cumin until golden, about 10 minutes. Add the beans and continue cooking over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the liquid evaporates and the beans form a creamy mass that pulls away from the bottom and sides of the pan, about 15 minutes. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Pretty Good but needed more spices. Trader Joe's has refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious last-minute soup, as long as you have refried and regular black beans handy. Easily halved for a dinner for 2 with sour cream to garnish and tortilla chips for dipping. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
With all of the rave reviews I was really dissappointed. The refried black beans although sounded like a good idea, just left "chunks" and a "gritty" texture, the more I stirred the more the other beans broke down. I would like to try it again but I would definitly use a food processor for the refried beans and broth and maybe add a little more fat somehow for the gritty factor. Other than that sounded like a great recipe, can't figure out where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This soup was extremely easy to make. I had refried (pinto) beans in my cupboard, so I used those plus a can of sweet corn, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe has too many ingredients to be considered easy. The tomato flavor was a little over-powering, and the refried beans gave it a strange texture. I prefer some of the other recipes that use pureed black beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States