Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This soup is so easy and delicious!! I trippled the amount of garlic and ginger. I added a can of diced tomatoes with onions, cilantro and peppers. I wanted to add a can of corn but i didn't have any. I replaced the sugar for 2 handfuls of brown sugar. sour cream, cilantro and green onions on top with grated cheese makes it perfect. my vegetarian friend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good soup! Easy and tasty! I made a few minor changes. I added cumin and red pepper (I could find cayenne pepper in the store). I also used lime juice instead of lemon. Just make sure you stir the refried beans until they are well blended so there are no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this as a side for chicken sandwiches for an easy dinner. It was very good. The only changes I made were that I didn't have thyme or celery salt, so used some Italian seasoning and I also used tomato sauce and used chicken stock instead of vegetable. I used fresh lime instead of lemon and added some green onion. It was just spicy enough and I served this over some leftover rice. Very yummy! Very versatile and the bowls were all empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This soup tasted more like Tomato with Black Bean Soup. I'm use to having cilantro and lime juice in my black bean soups but I gave this recipe a try anyways. I didn't care for the it but my Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! It reminded me of a black bean soup that I had in a local restaurant. They added bits of tender brisket to their soup and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Lyles Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adkins, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe has too many ingredients to be considered easy. The tomato flavor was a little over-powering, and the refried beans gave it a strange texture. I prefer some of the other recipes that use pureed black beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This soup was extremely easy to make. I had refried (pinto) beans in my cupboard, so I used those plus a can of sweet corn, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
With all of the rave reviews I was really dissappointed. The refried black beans although sounded like a good idea, just left "chunks" and a "gritty" texture, the more I stirred the more the other beans broke down. I would like to try it again but I would definitly use a food processor for the refried beans and broth and maybe add a little more fat somehow for the gritty factor. Other than that sounded like a great recipe, can't figure out where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious last-minute soup, as long as you have refried and regular black beans handy. Easily halved for a dinner for 2 with sour cream to garnish and tortilla chips for dipping. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Pretty Good but needed more spices. Trader Joe's has refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States