Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Awesome Soup! My daughter and I cooked this together. Great Mommy Daughter Time. Serve it with some Tositos Scoop Chips and some guacamole as a side. Definitely saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a good recipe with some changes. I pureed everything after step 1, before adding some whole black beans. It would be very good pureed with no whole black beans. I did not like the lemon juice addition, and am glad I forgot it and only tried a splash in one of the bowls. I had a fluke with one (my last) can of black beans, and had to use a can of regular refried beans. It still tastes wonderful. Good recipe, thank you. Very hearty and heartwarming. Very good taste combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great flavor! I served over a bed of white rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this soup for a very skeptical group of people who were expecting the worst when they heard bean soup was on the menu and was pleasantly surprised to hear many murmurs of approval. A few people stated that this is one of the best homemade soups they have tasted. Personally, I think the ginger really makes it. All in all, a heartwarming soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penelope Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I recently had jaw surgery so I had to puree my portion of the batch, and that resulted in a wonderfully creamy dish. I did make a couple of changes: added an 11oz can of corn, used my favorite spicy salsa in place of tomato purée, replaced the vege broth with chicken stock for more flavor, doubled the garlic amount of course, left out the cayenne (salsa spicy enough), and added a little bit of half and half in the end to make it creamier. And of course when I added a bowl sized amount of the soup to the blender, I topped it off with a nice dollop of sour cream before I pressed purée! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is truly EASY and FAST to make. The only changes I made were adding 1 extra can each of the refried and whole black beans-we just like more beans in our soup. Also adding that much lemon juice is not for the faint of heart. I cut the amount in half. As for the sour cream, I just mixed it into the soup itself If you're looking for something to make for dinner that's really good but quick and easy this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was a very odd tasting black bean soup. It has way too much tomato, and the refried beans gave it a strange texture. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a really nice recipe! It tastes even better if you make it using freshly made beans and home made refried beans (I use the Refried Beans Without the Refry recipe from this site). I also generally replace the lemon juice with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Made this to go with my Mexican themed Superbowl goodies. It was a hit! Hubby accidentally bought tomato sauce instead of puree when i sent him shopping, so I just went with it. Also used onion powder as I am not a fan of onions for the most part. Turned out execllent, but a little more runny that I had hoped. That is the only reason I gave it 4 not 5 and maybe this is because I used the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States