Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious last-minute soup, as long as you have refried and regular black beans handy. Easily halved for a dinner for 2 with sour cream to garnish and tortilla chips for dipping. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Super fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this kind of stuff, as long as it's spicy like it oughta be. First time I couldn't find refried black beans, so I made it using the Low-Fat Refried Beans recipe on here. Made it again after I found canned refried beans. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth because I never have that around, and I too used tomato sauce because I also never have tomato puree around. Overall I didn't do anything to change the flavor really, which was very good, and was good on a cold day. (Though admittedly, I started getting tired of it after making it twice too close together.) I liked it best with sour cream stirred into it. (In fact, without the sour cream, it's more of a 4.) Oh yes, and it was pretty easy - not a lot of prep other than measuring and dumping into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Without question the best black bean soup recipe I have ever tasted. What sets this black bean soup apart from the others is the refried black beans. This gives the soup a rich smooth base that I have not found in others. I had trouble finding refried black beans at my grocery so I googled it and made my own. Very simple and very good. I halved the recipe below to make the quantity about equal to that called for in the soup recipe. Amazing soup... This is a must try. Refried Bean Recipe 2 (32-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained 2 cups water 3 tablespoons lard or vegetable oil 1 large onion, diced 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 1 tablespoon cumin Puree 2 cans of black beans in 2 cups water in food processor. Heat the lard or other fat in a large saucepan over medium heat. Saute the onions with the salt and cumin until golden, about 10 minutes. Add the beans and continue cooking over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the liquid evaporates and the beans form a creamy mass that pulls away from the bottom and sides of the pan, about 15 minutes. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Awesome Soup! My daughter and I cooked this together. Great Mommy Daughter Time. Serve it with some Tositos Scoop Chips and some guacamole as a side. Definitely saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This soup was extremely easy to make. I had refried (pinto) beans in my cupboard, so I used those plus a can of sweet corn, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! It reminded me of a black bean soup that I had in a local restaurant. They added bits of tender brisket to their soup and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adkins, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a really nice recipe! It tastes even better if you make it using freshly made beans and home made refried beans (I use the Refried Beans Without the Refry recipe from this site). I also generally replace the lemon juice with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
An outstanding soup. It was a hit with both vegetarians and omnivores at an office luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This soup is so easy and delicious!! I trippled the amount of garlic and ginger. I added a can of diced tomatoes with onions, cilantro and peppers. I wanted to add a can of corn but i didn't have any. I replaced the sugar for 2 handfuls of brown sugar. sour cream, cilantro and green onions on top with grated cheese makes it perfect. my vegetarian friend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States