Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Without question the best black bean soup recipe I have ever tasted. What sets this black bean soup apart from the others is the refried black beans. This gives the soup a rich smooth base that I have not found in others. I had trouble finding refried black beans at my grocery so I googled it and made my own. Very simple and very good. I halved the recipe below to make the quantity about equal to that called for in the soup recipe. Amazing soup... This is a must try. Refried Bean Recipe 2 (32-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained 2 cups water 3 tablespoons lard or vegetable oil 1 large onion, diced 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 1 tablespoon cumin Puree 2 cans of black beans in 2 cups water in food processor. Heat the lard or other fat in a large saucepan over medium heat. Saute the onions with the salt and cumin until golden, about 10 minutes. Add the beans and continue cooking over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the liquid evaporates and the beans form a creamy mass that pulls away from the bottom and sides of the pan, about 15 minutes. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
With all of the rave reviews I was really dissappointed. The refried black beans although sounded like a good idea, just left "chunks" and a "gritty" texture, the more I stirred the more the other beans broke down. I would like to try it again but I would definitly use a food processor for the refried beans and broth and maybe add a little more fat somehow for the gritty factor. Other than that sounded like a great recipe, can't figure out where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I added green pepper and did tomato sauce, not puree. I had a can of refried black beans, but none of the regular, so I ended up doing 1 1/3 cups prepared dried black beans. I'm sure it's better, texture-wise, with the canned ones, but these worked. There's another black bean soup recipe on this site that I like a bit better, but this one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love this kind of stuff, as long as it's spicy like it oughta be. First time I couldn't find refried black beans, so I made it using the Low-Fat Refried Beans recipe on here. Made it again after I found canned refried beans. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth because I never have that around, and I too used tomato sauce because I also never have tomato puree around. Overall I didn't do anything to change the flavor really, which was very good, and was good on a cold day. (Though admittedly, I started getting tired of it after making it twice too close together.) I liked it best with sour cream stirred into it. (In fact, without the sour cream, it's more of a 4.) Oh yes, and it was pretty easy - not a lot of prep other than measuring and dumping into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this soup for a very skeptical group of people who were expecting the worst when they heard bean soup was on the menu and was pleasantly surprised to hear many murmurs of approval. A few people stated that this is one of the best homemade soups they have tasted. Personally, I think the ginger really makes it. All in all, a heartwarming soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penelope Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this as a side for chicken sandwiches for an easy dinner. It was very good. The only changes I made were that I didn't have thyme or celery salt, so used some Italian seasoning and I also used tomato sauce and used chicken stock instead of vegetable. I used fresh lime instead of lemon and added some green onion. It was just spicy enough and I served this over some leftover rice. Very yummy! Very versatile and the bowls were all empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Delicious last-minute soup, as long as you have refried and regular black beans handy. Easily halved for a dinner for 2 with sour cream to garnish and tortilla chips for dipping. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I recently had jaw surgery so I had to puree my portion of the batch, and that resulted in a wonderfully creamy dish. I did make a couple of changes: added an 11oz can of corn, used my favorite spicy salsa in place of tomato purée, replaced the vege broth with chicken stock for more flavor, doubled the garlic amount of course, left out the cayenne (salsa spicy enough), and added a little bit of half and half in the end to make it creamier. And of course when I added a bowl sized amount of the soup to the blender, I topped it off with a nice dollop of sour cream before I pressed purée! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! It reminded me of a black bean soup that I had in a local restaurant. They added bits of tender brisket to their soup and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Lyles Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adkins, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This soup was extremely easy to make. I had refried (pinto) beans in my cupboard, so I used those plus a can of sweet corn, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States