Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I'm in love with it! I didn't have the celery salt & I replaced the cayenne pepper with hot pepper seeds. I also added frozen corn. Very easy to make! Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
It is delicious, easy, and spicy. I added turmeric, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
fantastic flavors in this soup, was concerned about the different spices but they melded together very well. I did make alterations based on what I had on hand, 1/4 tsp ground ginger instead of the 1 tsp fresh chopped, threw a can of diced tomatoes into the blender for a minute because I did not have puree, 2 cans of regular refried beans (pinto I believe), 1 can of black beans and 1 can of cannelini. After it was done cooking I did not care for the consistency so I blended it in batches until there were no whole beans in the soup. Made it creamier and I much preferred this consistency. Had it the next day for lunch with a dollop of sour cream.....delish! I think you can mix up the beans however you want, it's the spice combo that makes this one a winner! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was quite good. I left out the bacon to cut calories and replaced the can of water with more chicken broth to up the flavor. Came out delicious. Do make the garnish and use either sour cream or yogurt to top it off. Black beans are so healthy so any way to incorporate them into your diet is a winner - if it's tasty too than all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made the recipe as directed. Great soup! Perfect seasoning! Next time I will add more corn, unblended black beans, peppers and corn starch to thicken it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
OMG!!! This was absolutely delicious. I have never had black bean soup befoe and wanted to try it. I normally double my soup recipes, but did not want to double this as I was unsure of how it would turn out. Well....let me tell you...I should have doubled it. It was soooo good that I tried to deter my husband and son from eating it by telling them that they wouldn't like it!! Of course, my reverse psychology didn't work...and they ended up eating it all. Definitely a keeper and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Amazing soup! May be the best recipe I have ever made. Only change I made was to use coconut oil instead of olive oil. Oh, and a can of tomato sauce not purée. Sooo delish! The lemon and the cayenne balance perfectly with the spices and beans. I seriously felt like I was eating the equivalent of chocolate mouser in the soup world. Was amazing. This recipe's title belies its greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I have to admit, this is very easy and yet it still has great flavor. thank you for sharing....its now a quick and easy go to for an easy soup appetizer! THANKS again! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Grooms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
"souper" easy, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious! I would substitute one can of refried beans for another can of black beans to bring more texture to this soup. I didn't have cayenne pepper, thyme, celery salt, or tomato puree, so I used tomato sauce and added more garlic, minced onion, chili powder, and paprika to taste. It's fun to combine this with the bread bowl recipe from Taste of Home Kitchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greencastle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States