Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
These biscuits were so easy and turned out just the way I wanted! I've tried dozens of recipes and always end up with hard, dry biscuits. These turned out light and fluffy and tasted great with country gravy or jam. I didn't have the self-rising flour so I used regular flour and added about 1 tablespoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt. These rose nicely and because of folding the dough over before cutting, they were easy to separate into halves for buttering after baking. My oven runs a little warm, so I only needed to bake for about 15 minutes. Yummy! Thanks, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a good basic bisquit recipe. My favorite part of it was the idea to double the dough. Instead of doubling it, I rolled mine thin and placed one one bisquit ontop of another. This allowed them to pull apart nicely for butter and jelly. I'll do this with all my bisquits from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This will be a regular in my family from now on. This is the first from scratch biscuits I have made and they tasted just like great-grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Thanks Brenda...I needed an easy and good biscuit recipe.This one filled the menu nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I just made these..they are DELICIOUS!! I used butter flavored Crisco and didn't have self-rising flour, so I added the baking soda, baking powder and 1 tsp. salt. Turned out perfect and soooo gooooood!!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
mercy, mercy. i didn't think i could give 5 stars to a biscuit recipe without buttermilk, but this was (is, it is being devoured as i type) one good biscuit. i used white lily self-rise, spectrum shortening (no transfats- i'd use half butter or natural transfat free margarine instead of butter flavored crisco, if i wanted that 'chicken place' flavor... the texture & size are certainly there.) added a tsp or so of sugar, as per recommendations. but it would be fine without. cut shortening in with pastry blender to pea size lumps, stirred milk in very gently, and baked for 18 minutes. it is a fairly wet dough, but easy enough to lightly handle with floured hands (though i was skeptical at first). i think the wet dough makes the more kfc type biscuit; for a cracker barrel type, more traditional biscuit, my dough is dryer & has buttermilk. i used a greased cast iron skillet to bake them. a great addition to my biscuit repertoire. thanks, brenda! (the kids are putting homemade apple butter on them right now- well worth it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was my first attempt ever at making home-made biscuits...turned out wonderful and I can't believe hoe easy it was to make! I think next time I will try the butter flavored Crisco to see how that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is similar to the biscuit recipe my grandma taught me. She baked hers at a higher heat setting and less time. These are absolutely heavenly! Can't get a better biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Our family devoured these biscuits. Of course like with all recipes I tweeked it a little. Regular flour, 1T baking soda, 1t salt, 1T sugar. Added milk slowly until I got the batter I wanted. I always use a floured rim of a glass to cut the biscuits and they were perfect size. We will definetly use this again. Thank you for listing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States