Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I rate 4 stars for the easy part and I will probably make again but I will cut back on the shortening, (I used butter flavor Crisco) because I thought they were a tad greasy. They also were not as light as I like. However I found the dough very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Even with the self rising flour I needed to add baking powder. However it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madill, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was feeling reminiscent of my grandmother's biscuits and thought I would come on here and find a recipe. Too many recipes that I found weren't close enough to hers, yours was spot on! Even though I had to change it a lil (I didn't have shortening so I used 1 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of oil) they turned out so beautifully....and best of all, they were simple and elegant! The sad part to all of this is this is the night my stove decided to not stay lit lol so it took about 2 hours for them to FINALLY cook... Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
make sure you pat these to be at least 1/2 in thick and watch them in the oven. mine were too thin and the 20 minute minimum made them too crispy. they were still good smothered in homemade sausage gravy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I was very happy with this recipe. The biscuits turned out perfect. Just the right crunch on the outside and light and fluffy melt in your mouth on the inside. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make these biscuits again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grillmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
awful. bland. hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I used bisquick baking mix (heart smart), margerine (it's what I had), and almond milk (unsweetened). I did add 2 Tbl sugar and a splash of vanilla. These were so fluffy on the inside and not dry at all! They were similar to KFC. My husband did like them, so that was a good comment! I will make again! Very easy and simple. I only got 10 biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobinandDave
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice and light biscuits... I used saved bacon grease as shortening and it added a nice kind of salty flavor. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinandDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
So.....i had a friend cook these and they came out block hard, but she overmixed the dough. I made them and they flaked nicely. The key is nit to overmix the dough. Add in butter and flour first to make a crumb mixture then gently fold in mix. Pat it down, do not roll out with a roller. Add a little baking powder an use buttermilk for more rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Done in 15min in my oven! Just made these and they satisfied my biscuit craving! Used Parkay margarine and only a heaping 1/2 cup (3/4c is ALOT). Also used a trusty hand mixer to blend it all. They turned out perfect; not too bland or floury and not too greasy. Also very soft. Set the timer for 15min and had to pull 'em within 1 min of the beeep. Glad to find a good use for my self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States