Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Outstanding!! I took the advice of some of the others and used the baking powder and soda because I had all purpose flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. They turned out light and moist.. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is the first recipe I have tried from this site that was not edible. I followed the directions and used real butter instead of shortening as suggested by others. I was extremely disappointed by the outcome of this recipe. It was dry and had no taste to it. My boyfriend suggested using them for target practice instead of wasting them. I am sorry, but they were really that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redone
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect. Don't over mix pat out. Melted butter on top after they come out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe this morning for the first time, and it was really good. I have tried other recipe but this one will be the one for sure to make for my family... I changed the oven temp for about five minutes, from 425 to 400 then after five I raised it to 425. I also made sure that before I started the oven was turned on to 400. Even though I had set the timer for 22 minutes, I checked the biscuits having 7 minutes on the timer. They were done, and I took them out of the oven. I also have an electric oven so I'm guessing it varies from oven to oven. We served them with sausage gravy, and even grandma had fun eating them... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
these are a great basic recipe there's alot you can do and still get a good result. change the shortening to margrine or like me butter and they have a creamy flavor and flaky. I use this one for biscuits and sausage gravy once a year only.... just a craving that come's from being a kid and my mom always made so it's to bring back memories with her and I try to always do it on her birthday so that she know's Im thinking of her way up in those sky's that she's watching over me she know's and well yeah once a year we have these if it was up to me it would be more often but they arent healthy in anyway so we keep it at once a year just for mom,,,,,,,,,,,, love my mom and miss her so....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I LIGHTLY sprinkled the tops of mine with SEA salt....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very easy base recipe. From this recipe you can really expand the horizons. I didn't substitute anything, but I did add some salt and pepper, and brushed them with melted butter before putting in the oven. They only took about 15 minutes in my oven, but my oven runs hotter. I'll be putting this in my recipe book. There's many things you can do with just this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I just made them and they are easy to make and good to eat. I did read the reviews first and liked the use of butter instead of shortening for more flavor and these biscuits are not plain tasting using butter. This will be a much used recipe for that homemade taste in biscuits! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Really simple, quick and easy...taste was good. They're plain, but are perfect for biscuits and gravy or butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I doubled the recipe as one of the other reviewers suggested and they came out really good. They puffed up nicely and my son loved them. I also used margarine instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyrose3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States