Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I really liked the texture if the biscuits. My oven is pretty hot so I baked mine for about 15 mins on 400. I did find them a little on the plain side so next time I will probably add about 1/2 tsp of salt. I also only needed about 3/4 cup of milk, it's pretty humid where I live so maybe that's why. Overall I loved the recipe, simple + fluffy = yummy to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Wagley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've used this base recipe for years with AP flour, baking powder and baking soda. Makes wonderful cheddar bay biscuits! Make sure your shortening is cold and don't over mix once the milk is added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
As a college kid who really has no idea what she's doing in the kitchen, this recipe was really easy for me to make. However, I did have to change two of the ingredients that I didn't own because my roommates weren't home and I didn't have a car. I used butter instead of shortening, which was a simply fix, but the main issue was that we don't have any baking powder, baking soda, or even self-rising flour (I'm only staying with these guys for two weeks before I leave for study abroad; if this were my permanent kitchen, it'd be stocked!). However, I did find some pizza dough mix that contained dry yeast, so I said what the heck and threw it in. I was sure my biscuits would turn out to be a disaster, but they were actually really good--especially with raspberry preserves on top! But even without the preserves, the biscuits were still pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Outstanding!! I took the advice of some of the others and used the baking powder and soda because I had all purpose flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. They turned out light and moist.. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the directions and used real butter instead of shortening as suggested by others. I was extremely disappointed by the outcome of this recipe. It was dry and had no taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redone
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect. Don't over mix pat out. Melted butter on top after they come out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe this morning for the first time, and it was really good. I have tried other recipe but this one will be the one for sure to make for my family... I changed the oven temp for about five minutes, from 425 to 400 then after five I raised it to 425. I also made sure that before I started the oven was turned on to 400. Even though I had set the timer for 22 minutes, I checked the biscuits having 7 minutes on the timer. They were done, and I took them out of the oven. I also have an electric oven so I'm guessing it varies from oven to oven. We served them with sausage gravy, and even grandma had fun eating them... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
these are a great basic recipe there's alot you can do and still get a good result. change the shortening to margrine or like me butter and they have a creamy flavor and flaky. I use this one for biscuits and sausage gravy once a year only.... just a craving that come's from being a kid and my mom always made so it's to bring back memories with her and I try to always do it on her birthday so that she know's Im thinking of her way up in those sky's that she's watching over me she know's and well yeah once a year we have these if it was up to me it would be more often but they arent healthy in anyway so we keep it at once a year just for mom,,,,,,,,,,,, love my mom and miss her so....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I LIGHTLY sprinkled the tops of mine with SEA salt....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very easy base recipe. From this recipe you can really expand the horizons. I didn't substitute anything, but I did add some salt and pepper, and brushed them with melted butter before putting in the oven. They only took about 15 minutes in my oven, but my oven runs hotter. I'll be putting this in my recipe book. There's many things you can do with just this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States