Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I first made this to use in Zucchini Pie on this site - worked perfectly once I figured out to cut down the oil in the pie recipe! I've also used it to make pancakes following a reviewer's suggestion (2 c mix, 1 c milk, 2 eggs) and they were wonderful - I usually don't like pancakes but these were light and not greasy. My go-to pancake recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
SO delicious! And so incredibly easy to mix up. I put the whole mixture in my stand mixer, and although it just baaarely fit, it did the trick! Next time I will put half in at a time, because it was so dang easy in the mixer, and cut in the shortening to perfection. I've only made biscuits with this, but they rose higher and were fluffier than when I used Bisquick. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good used it just as I would have used biscuit mix. Did scale down to 6 servings but will be making more. Thanks to this I will never have to buy biscuit mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea62779

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just made these scaled down to 12. With a little over 2cups of milk, knead 10x, rolled out to 1/4"-1/2" and used my drinking glasses to cut out biscuits. I got about 15-18 perfectly golden dense biscuits, I didn't count exactly, on 375* for about 15 mins. YUMMY! We had these with a traditional southern dinner of fried chicken last night and then again this morning with spicy Jimmy Dean sausage, with eggs and cheese between these biscuits. I've had them with grape & strawberry jams and honey w/ butter. Possibilities are endless. This will be a staple in my house!!! THank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I didn't make regular buiscuit with this recipe but did used for the Bay Cheddar Buiscuit from this site and it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very good, very easy. I reduced my ingredients to make 10 and then mixed it all with 1 1/2 cups milk. I've got many more than 10 biscuits and they're wonderful. Going to use them with the biscuits and gravy recipe from here tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Much better than anything from a box! I didn't change anything with the recipe. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This mix is excellent!! I used 7cups APF (made into SRF), and 3 cups Whole wheat flour. I also used frozen shredded butter instead of shortening. I halved the recipes for two batches of biscuits. Using 5 cups of flour mix with 2 cups of milk. And they still came out fantastic!! Fluffy, soft, flaky ... yummy!! Second batch was Cheddar biscuits, made the same as above with added 3/4 cup of cheddar shredded cheese! This recipe is fantastic and easy to adjust to your liking ... wonderful ... thank you so much for sharing!! PS ... can't wait to make pancakes with this mix ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used this recipe in the cheddar bay biscuits recipe and it was fantastic. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings (made 3 3/4 cups) i used margerine since that is all i had and made sure i had everything cut in really well. it took awhile by hand but these were the fluffiest biscuits i have made. Better then bisquik in my opinon. Definitely replace the big daddy biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Haven't tried your bisquit mixture yet but have been looking for this recipe.Broke down and bought bisquick.This will save me money for sure. It's a definite keeper.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States