Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
All of the women in my family were phenominal bakers. I have been the exception to this rule. It's been one of my life's goals to be able to make big, light fluffy biscuits. (no kidding) FINALLY I have the right recipe. Thank you SO MUCH! Last night I made the mix with half butter and half shortening, added powdered buttermilk to the 2/3 cup of milk and made dumplings with my Irish stew. They were so wonderfully light and fluffy that my family raved about them. My 4 year old grandson filled up on dumplings and forgot to eat his stew. I am looking forward to making a huge batch of biscuits and gravy for my family this weekend. Again, thank you, this is fabulous and so easy! If possible to add to the recipe, it would be good to have the liquid measurements for things like biscuits. Luckily other posters left notes, thanks to all of you :¬D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! My husband and I love these biscuits and I just can't say enough good about them. I used some of the advice given in other reviews (how much milk to use and how long to bake) when I made them up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very quick and easy. Needed more salt for our personal taste, but other than that the biscuit were very good. I mixed in enough buttermilk to make a moist dough and then turned onto a floured surface and kneaded sparingly until no longer sticky. Instead of rolling out and using a cutter, I simply patted into a rectangle and cut into squares-no rerolling and the biscuits fit perfectly next to one another. Popped them into a 450 degree oven for 12 minutes. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonkawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
There is a little too much baking powder in this. I made some mix up and used it for pancakes and biscuits. They both tasted a little like baking powder. Next time i will try it with 1/2 the amount of baking powder.Other then that it's a great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I've stopped looking. This is it. Light flaky texture, rises well. I made a 1/2 recipe substituting lard for shortening, and then mixed in 2 cups milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I had never made biscuits before in my life so I was a little nervous about trying this recipe. Since reviews raved about how easy it was I decided to go for it. I made the whole batch for a gathering at the park and everyone loved them! These were the easiest, most amazing biscuits ever. I added shredded cheddar cheese and I think next time around I will use buttermilk instead of regular milk to make them more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujahidswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I was making French Onion biscuits when I realized that my baking mix had expired. Allrecipes to my rescue. This was the first recipe that I found, and it came together really fast and well. I did use bread flour in my batch b/c it has the most gluten and that's what you want when you making something chewy like a biscuit. I won't be buying baking mix again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Tasted better then they looked. Turned out great but you have to add milk! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wigglysloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I am so glad I finally found a biscuit mix that actually tastes this great. They are light and fluffy and no baking powder after taste. They are close to my mom's who made the best biscuits from scratch. She only use self-rising flour,crisco and milk. Wish I paid more close attention when was making them. I used 2 1/4 cu mix and 2/3 cup buttermilk. I followed the instructions to the tee with the exceptof brushing the tops with butter. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States