Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! So quick & easy...you can even whip them up for a fast breakfast. And the mix stays good in the fridge for quite a while (not that it gets a chance to stay in the fridge!)... it won rave reviews from the crew, especially when partnered with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Mmm... I never tried the biscuits by themselves, but I cut down the recipe to 3 biscuits, added a 1/2 cup of milk, and made brown sugar biscuits instead. I rolled out the dough into about a 7x5 inch rectangle, coated the top with melted butter and sprinkled on brown sugar and raisins. Then I rolled starting at the 7 inch side, cut every into inch-wide rolls and cooked it in the oven at 415F for 11 minutes. Made about 5 of various sizes, and they came out crispy on the outside and nice soft inside. I have a hard time limiting myself to eating only two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anglica
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I've made this several times, using the recipe to yield 3 instead of 24. (It actually makes 6 biscuits). I also used another users directions and added 1/2 cup of milk and I use butter instead of shortening. They taste great! I combine all of the dry ingredients, cut the butter into small bits and blend it with my hands. Then, I add the milk a little at a time, mixing it with my hands until I form a nice sturdy lump and I knead it maybe 10 times. Some people may roll it out, but I just flatten it to 1/2 inch thick with my hands and cut it using a glass since I don't have a biscuit cutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
lacking, really lacking. dry and tasteless -- okay if you drown them in honey butter. i won't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I loved this!! I hate using things out of a box, so this was a great find. I used butter and keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
As a finished product this is absolutely great, I wanted a good bulk recipe that I could make ad hoc. However, this recipe is in need of some serious editing for people who dont know what "Use as you would a baking mix" I would suggest to the creator that they add ratios for fluid, baking temp reccomendations, you know the stuff of normal recipes. Taste = great! Writing style = poor 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Cook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful mix to have in your cupboard. I've been using it for cakes, cookies, loaves and biscuits (recipes I found on this site by ingredient searching under "baking mix"). It sure makes baking a breeze. Thanks for sharing this, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made these last night and I have to say that these are the best buscuits I've ever made. I'm not much of a baker so my only complaint is that the directions should have had a cooking temp. and a milk or buttermilk measurements. Thanks for a great recipe my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This really is a great biscuit mix if you find the right way to use it (hence the 4 stars). I followed the advice of another reviewer to use 2-1/4 cups of the mix with 3/4 cups of milk. I used half and half milk because I had it on hand. I coated the biscuits with a little melted butter before popping them into the over at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, until they were golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
so good! a great base for so many recipes, or bake them up as a side to your main dish. We like to use these for breakfast with sausage and gravy on top, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States