Easy Beer and Ketchup Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I agree w the other reviewers on the sauce. As it turned out, I only had a 20oz bottle of catsup, so added 8 oz of hot picante sauce to make up for it, and even then the catsup made the sauce way too sweet. Shoulda just thrown a jar of Ragu in the crockpot! Or added more beer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Meat balls were a little dry and sauce wasn't anything I would make again. I did use half ketchup half bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
THesaucewas a little tangy for me, I added some brown sugar and it was delicious. ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe was awful.To start off, I had used chili sauce instead of ketchup, thinking it would add extra zip. THEN, I read the bad reviews after I had already started making this and applied some of the suggested changes. I added salt in pepper to the meatballs (altough atfter I had already rolled the balls) and then added BBQ sauce to the sauce. But they still came out with an OVERWHELMING beer taste. That's all we could taste. It was a huge disappointment to bring these to our superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
For the people that didn't like this, I really wonder what kind of beer you used. Some beer is just not made for cooking. I never use anything but Grain Belt, the original light beer. Also some ketchups are sweet, (or too sweet). I prefer a lighter bar-b-q sauce. I can't handle the hot one's. I take these to parties quite often, and everybody seems to like them. I always have an empty dish when I leave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My family has been making these meatballs for years and loving them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I was pressed for time to go to a reunion. I improvised with Farm Rich soy meatballs. I used Samuel Adams Octoberfest beer 2-12 oz bottles. I also used a 32 oz bottle of Hunts ketchup. I had about 10 meatballs left after the reuion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keittmj

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was not good at all. I'm giving it one star because I have to give it a star to rate it! I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed to have wasted all that meat...especially since meat is pricey these days. I would definitely try a different recipe if you're in the mood for meatballs!!! But, I do realize everyone has different tastes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I am going to try this one as written, cause I never met a meatball Big , Small , Appetizer or Main Course that I didn't like. Sounds like a quick fixer for an Appetizer. I have had good luck with Heinz Chili Sauce and Grape Jelly. 1 Bottle Chili Sauce and 1/2 C. Grape Jelly in saucepan heat till combined pour over meatballs in Slow Cooker. Cook high for 4 hours. Unlike the other comment made about reheated makes them taste worse, with these they are better. Meatballs Rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain1200c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
To make them even easier, I throw a bag of small, frozen Italian style meatballs in the slow cooker, then the beer (O'Douls for us) and ketchup, and voila! My family loves these meatballs as appetizers, party food, or even over rice as a meal! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States