Easy Beer Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had to get somewhat creative b/c i only had reg. flour on hand. So i used 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt = 1 cup self-rising flour. The beer of choice tonight was a Budweiser Select and we thought it gave the bread a wonderful flava! This was a really easy and really tasty recipe for Beer Bread Mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious! Great with a hearty bisque or soup!!! A new favorite and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This bread was GREAT! My entire family just loved it. The crunchy top is especially delicious and this bread is fantastic with a really good soup and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was wonderful and easy easy easy!!! I didn't have self rising flour so I followed the suggestions by bv (thanks!). I have never made bread like this before. We loved it with chili and can't wait to make it again!! I didn't have regular onion powder si I used Mrs Dash Onion Meadly and Tomato Basil Garlic instead of italian seasoning. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by jenathomas
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
My oh my this bread is good!! It's a great savory beer bread. I did not think this bread was very sweet at all even with the amount of brown sugar in it. I'm actually trying to recreate some beer bread that we just recently had in Portland, Oregon at a place called Huber's. Their beer bread was very sweet. So perhaps if I left out the herbs and the onion powder in this recipe and played with the sugar I might come close to theirs. But I did love this bread as is. I made it exactly as the recipe states and used a Red Hook ESB (microbrew) for the beer and it is delicious. I'm making a big pot of chili later today and we're going to eat it with that. Oh and all the butter you pour on top of the bread makes the crust taste soooooo good!!! -Not low fat but I don't tend to bake that way. If I want low fat, I eat a salad. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This bread is so good. I leave out the spices and poke the dough with a knife in several places after pouring the melted butter over the top. I love the nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I used 3 c. self rising flour as another reviewer suggested and it came out great - sort of the consistency of a biscuit (crumbly crust, soft on the inside). I only used about 2 tablespoons melted butter on top and it was still very tasty. I thnk that other herbs like dill, sage, rosemary or thyme would go nicely in this bread as well. This was a nice accompaniment to Spinach & Leek White Bean Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I have always used a beer bread mix but decided recently to find a good recipe for it instead. This barely took longer than the mix I use and tasted much better. Very easy and very good. Had it with chili and my husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Dense texture. Excellent flavor! VERY easy & quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This bread is awesome! The top is like a biscuit and the inside is perfect. (it went well with stroganoff.) So easy to make, I handed the recipe to my husband and had him make it while I made the main dish. Which made for nice bonding time in the kitchen :) This is a keeper, and I'll make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States