Easy Beer Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had to get somewhat creative b/c i only had reg. flour on hand. So i used 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt = 1 cup self-rising flour. The beer of choice tonight was a Budweiser Select and we thought it gave the bread a wonderful flava! This was a really easy and really tasty recipe for Beer Bread Mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I have been searching for the perfect beer bread recipe and this hits the nail on the head! I left out the onion powder and the italian seasoning and increased the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and it tastes IDENTICAL to The tastefully simple stuff at a fraction of the cost! (I made several loaves with other recipes to get it to taste the same as the good box stuff and this is it!) I also made Jalapeno cheddar bread from it. When I add savory seasonings I use the amount of brown sugar posted in this recipe. If I am making plain bread I use the 1/3 cup! This is the best. It is different than using just self rising flour. I tried that as others have posted and it really is not the same texture. Go with this and you will never spend $5-6 a box again! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This is a really good beer bread recipe. Because of the recommendation from the previous reviewer I simply used 3 cups of self rising flour. My bread texture was perfect. The recipes I have seen previously call for 3 c of flour and 3 T of sugar. The extra tablespoon of sugar makes the bread a little sweeter. Also the brown sugar gives it a beautiful dark color. I switched the Italian seasoning for a creole spice because I thought it would blend better with the meat I was making. The recipe was as simple to follow as any beer bread and I will use it again. The only real warning I will give is make sure you use a high quality beer. I used a Honey Lager and it had great flavor. Cooking with beer is like cooking with wine, if you wouldn't drink it, don't cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My previous review was that this recipe had too much baking powder. I have since made it several times trying different measurements. The bottom line is DON'T ADD ANY baking powder. Self-rising flour already has baking powder in it, and it is sufficient for this recipe. I also don't add any Italian or onion spices, it is more versatile without - it's also very good for breakfast this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious! This was a definite winner for snacking during Sunday's football game! I used 3 cups of self rising four instead of adding the 1/2 sup of flour, baking powder and salt. I left everything else the same. It's so good and the melted butter over top gives it such a nice crunch! The best part is it's so inexpensive to make. I cut it up into small chunks and served this with "Beer Cheese Dip II" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Best beer bread I've ever made. More herbs wouldn't hurt the next time but the texture was much better than usual. It wasn't crumbly and dry like most BB's (probably because of the melted butter. The recipe opens up possiblities such as adding shredded cheddar and sun dried tomatoes to the batter or elimating the herbs altogether and throwing in dried cranberries, mixed chopped dried fruits or dates. Would be great toasted. The herb version would make an easy appetizer cut in squares and toasted then topped w. creamed cheese and Jalapeno jelly or whatever. thanks for the recipe, will make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was wonderful and easy easy easy!!! I didn't have self rising flour so I followed the suggestions by bv (thanks!). I have never made bread like this before. We loved it with chili and can't wait to make it again!! I didn't have regular onion powder si I used Mrs Dash Onion Meadly and Tomato Basil Garlic instead of italian seasoning. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made 6 loaves of bread, we are not beer drinkers. I had to buy a 6 pack, so felt it gave me an opportunity to try it 6 ways. I first made the mix in quart zip lock bags to take to a bake-a-thon at my sister's house. When I got there, I had the bags marked, some had seasonings, both the onion and italian seasonings, some were white or wheat. They all tasted very good. The wheat seemed to make a heartier bread. There was nothing I would change or disliked about any of the variations. I would like to tell you, always make sure your self rising flour is fresh! The leavening added to it will not work as well as you would expect if it is old. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe!! I actually left out all of the herbs. One of my local favorite steak places serves Shiner Bock beer bread with honey butter that is to die for. By leaving out all of the herbs and using Shiner as my beer I managed to get pretty darn close to theirs! Thanks again it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this without the seasonings with the intent to use the leftovers for toast. Of course, we never had the chance! I made the rest of the recipe just as directed and it was very easy and turned out good. I've never had any type of beer bread before so I don't know about the density etc. but I found it to be a teeny bit on the doughy side but that could have been because I baked it in a clay bowl. It's absolutely delicious and on the sweet side. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States