Easy Beer Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My previous review was that this recipe had too much baking powder. I have since made it several times trying different measurements. The bottom line is DON'T ADD ANY baking powder. Self-rising flour already has baking powder in it, and it is sufficient for this recipe. I also don't add any Italian or onion spices, it is more versatile without - it's also very good for breakfast this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This is a really good beer bread recipe. Because of the recommendation from the previous reviewer I simply used 3 cups of self rising flour. My bread texture was perfect. The recipes I have seen previously call for 3 c of flour and 3 T of sugar. The extra tablespoon of sugar makes the bread a little sweeter. Also the brown sugar gives it a beautiful dark color. I switched the Italian seasoning for a creole spice because I thought it would blend better with the meat I was making. The recipe was as simple to follow as any beer bread and I will use it again. The only real warning I will give is make sure you use a high quality beer. I used a Honey Lager and it had great flavor. Cooking with beer is like cooking with wine, if you wouldn't drink it, don't cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This bread is so good. I leave out the spices and poke the dough with a knife in several places after pouring the melted butter over the top. I love the nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This bread was GREAT! My entire family just loved it. The crunchy top is especially delicious and this bread is fantastic with a really good soup and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was great - although I didn't add the baking powder, Italian seasoning or the onion powder (I probably will try the onion powder next time). I've been looking for a beer bread recipe that tasted fabulous and didn't crumble. I think I've found it - and friends have asked immediately for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This is a very flavorful compact bread. I used 3 cups of self rising flour and omitted the all-purpose flour and baking powder. I served this with a spinach dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had to get somewhat creative b/c i only had reg. flour on hand. So i used 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt = 1 cup self-rising flour. The beer of choice tonight was a Budweiser Select and we thought it gave the bread a wonderful flava! This was a really easy and really tasty recipe for Beer Bread Mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I used 3 c. self rising flour as another reviewer suggested and it came out great - sort of the consistency of a biscuit (crumbly crust, soft on the inside). I only used about 2 tablespoons melted butter on top and it was still very tasty. I thnk that other herbs like dill, sage, rosemary or thyme would go nicely in this bread as well. This was a nice accompaniment to Spinach & Leek White Bean Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious! Great with a hearty bisque or soup!!! A new favorite and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I have always used a beer bread mix but decided recently to find a good recipe for it instead. This barely took longer than the mix I use and tasted much better. Very easy and very good. Had it with chili and my husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States