Easy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is a great Stroganoff -no fuss no mess. Since there are just two of us at home, I used one pound of beef, 3 Tbs of flour, 1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce and 1 cup of fat free sour cream and the stroganoff still came out terrific. Since I didn't have egg noodles in my pantry, I used fusili (or rotini) and my husband actually liked them better. By the way, the left over sauce freezes very well. Thaw to room temperature then heat and serve. Great make ahead dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Simple, flavors blend well. I will definitely add it to the regular dishes we eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
THIS WAS SO EASY TO MAKE my husband ate two helpings and that is a high rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I've been making almost this EXACT recipe, except for the mushrooms, (which I LOVE but the rest of my family won't eat!) but I use cream cheese instead of sour cream. Just cut it into cubes & add it to the hot beef mixture last. Stir until melted. VERY creamy!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a winner! Stroganoff lovers and even those who havent had it will surely like it! Didnt have egg noodles so I just used the thin spaghetti I have in the pantry. It turned out divine! Will surely make it again and again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe is a good starter, but needs a few tweaks to bring it from "ho-hum" to something special. I saute chopped onions with a clove of minced garlic in Canola oil until almost done, add fresh sliced mushrooms and continue cooking for a minute or so. Remove from pan. In same pan, fry thinly sliced round or sirloin steak which has been seasoned with pepper and salt (optional). When done, add flour, 1 T. Worcestershire sauce, 1 T. lemon juice, the beef broth or bouillon, and one bay leaf. Stir until smooth and add the mushrooms/onion mixture. When heated through, add sour cream. Stir until combined, remove from heat and serve on top of the cooked and drained egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was a great meal, followed directions but eliminated the mushrooms (not a favorite for us). It was easy and quick to prepare. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is one of our stand by, go to meals. I made the following changes. 1. Put salted water on to boil. (should be as salty as the sea). 2. Slice fresh mushrooms, dice 1/2 medium onion, mince a clove or so of fresh garlic. 3. Drop the noodles in the water just after starting the meat. 4. Place meat in skillet. As the meat just starts to brown and juices begin, add the onion. Add the garlic a little later on. (You're cooking the onion in the beef fat rather than butter. 5. After the meat is cooked, drain off all but a tablespoon of grease. 6. Return pan with meat to burner. Sprinkle the ground meat with 3 to 4 tablespoons of flour and cook for a minute or two (the culinary term is singer and it allows the grease (fat) to coat the flour and cooks the flour. 7. Add 1 cup of beef stock/broth and stir. Add more as necessary to form a nice smoother sauce. 8. Add mushrooms and simmer. The sauces will thicken as it cooks. 9. Continue to simmer until mushroom are done. 10. Just prior to service; take it off the heat and stir in the room temperature sour cream. One pan, quick, fast, and in hurry. If it is too dry or bland try changing the beef or beef stock/broth The key is the beef stock/broth. Scratch made is the best; however I do quite well with beef base or Bouillon. Lately I've used "Better Than Bouillon" by Superior Touch. Another key is the ground beef. I find the 80/20 good. The 90/10 seems to be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Very good recipe. I tweaked it by halving the recipe, adding a splash of red wine to the beef stock, added garlic powder while cooking the beef, and adding a cup of frozen peas at the end. I browned my ground beef and set that aside and made the mistake of melting butter and beginning my roux instead of sauteing the onions. But it didn't matter. I just turned down the heat a bit and cooked the onions while the flour and butter mixture was cooking. Hubby and kids said it was good! I think for next time, however, I'll double the sauce (use original recipe amounts) but continue to keep the one pound of ground beef. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I have been making a similar recipe to this for years with one VERY importantant twist. Go ahead and cook your pasta as usual. I brown the ground beef and when about half done I add the chopped onion. Sautee all until done. Drain the excess fat from the browned beef. Add your fresh chopped garlic and sautee just a couple of minutes being careful not to burn the garlic. This is where I make my secret twist to this recipe. I have found that when you use flour to thicken the consistency of your sauce and add beef stock or beef bullion, there is an easier and much more delicious twist. I mix 3-4 talespoon of Brown Gravy mix in about a cup of water and dissolve very well. Add the brown Gravy mix and it thickens the sauce and gives it the Flavor Boost needed to keep this recipe from tasting so bland. Add the mushroms and continue to simmer until it thickens. I then add the sourcream before serving and stir slightly so you can see the sour cream and brown gravy slightly mixed together. Now that's Gooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States