Easy Beef Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe turned out quite tasty. I made a couple of changes though. Instead of 1/3 cup water I filled 1/2 of the soup can with milk. I used cream of mushroom soup since that was all I had on hand, and I added a lot of salt, pepper, & some garlic. I made my own pie crust recipe, and instead of 1 crust I made a 2 crust, and used a 8x8 pan. Here is the recipe. 2-2/3 cups flour, 1 t. salt, 1 cup shortening, 7-8 T.water. I always add 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese to my potpie crusts. Mix flour w/ salt, cut in shortening, add water 1T. at a time, form into ball Roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very good overall. When I make it again, I would use less thyme and add more liquid. I followed the recipe except for using milk instead of water. The finished pot pie was on the dry side (not much gravy) and had a stronger thyme taste than i liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this tonight and I call can say was "eh." Lots of leftovers. I followed the recipe and made one exception, I used crescent rolls instead of pie crust. Adding pepper and garlic powder once it was served did help, but my husband doused it with cheese. I'm pretty sure I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
It's an awesome base start. Filling: I put 1/2 c. water in a sauce pan and cooked frozen "steamer" veggies package (corn/peas/beans medley). Drain. Return veggies to the pot. Cut up canned cooked potatoes into bite sizes. Mix in with the cooked veggies. Season veggies with salt/pepper/onion flakes/. Add 1 can of CREAM of Mushroom (vs. golden mush) to the pot and heat the soup on low. Add one 6oz plain yogurt. Heat and stir. Season the filling to taste. Should like the way the filling tastes all by itself. Then, one pie crust on bottom of pie ban. Place the cubed beef over the crust. I made a pot roast and cubed it so the beef was delicious. Pour filling over the beef. I added shredded cheddar on top of the filling and topped with the other pie crust. Cut an "+" into the top crust to vent. Cook til top crust is golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Made this tonight. It turned out great. For the beef I used left over beef eye round roast. My top crust had some issues but even thought it looked bad, my husband loved it. On the scale of 1 to 10, he gave it a 12 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
A great basic but in need of spices and extra flavor since I had no thyme. I made my own pastry pie crust and to that added one generous teaspoon of basil and a few shakes of onion powder. To the mix added salt, pepper, roasted garlic and dried tomatoes. I also added 1/2 can of milk instead of water. I really liked the Worcestershire sauce in the soup, nice flavor. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this recipe was so much FUN! after reading the reviews I felt I had pernission to play with the base. it'll be something else next time. but the filling ended up in one pot before it hit the crust; added onion cooked with frozen veggies; garkic and italian seasoning --oh heck!! it was all by feel! the cooking was wonderful and the finished product got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
MADE THIS FOR MY SON, HE WAS IN THE MOOD FOR A POT PIE, I USED TOP ROUND ROAST BEEF FOR THE MEAT, WOW HE SAID ITS A HIT. THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Easy & quick even if you make your own crust and use leftover beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danaburger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used a can of garlic cream of mushroom soup instead of the golden cream of mushroom soup and I cut up fresh carrots, potatoes, onions and mushrooms instead of using frozen vegetables. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States