Easy Beef Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This has a strange flavor, the wine is not a good addition. I followed directions exactly, maybe I should have used broth instead. It's basically chicken pot pie but with stew beef and a bland gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Just making it now, and it's cooking in the oven now. I'm not usually into home baking but today i decided i wanted to make pie. Easy instructions, and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is the 2nd pie that I have ever made and it wasn't until this recipe did I discover the importance of letting a pie "sit" so that the flavors can set in. At first taste I thought that maybe the recipe called for too much wine but a few hours later after I had it in the fridge and heated it up it tasted perfect! My sister the picky eater even enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a really great recipe that you can alter to your personal taste. I omitted the wine, and instead of canned veggies did a quick saute of fresh to include sliced onion, celery, carrot. I added a small can of mushrooms and some sliced baked potato. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe, my first time making anything with a crust and it was delicious. I left out the wine and I think I would prefer using leftover pot roast as the steak that I used was a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was a REALLY nice base recipe. I added rounded 1/2 tsp. of dried oregano and about 1/2 Tbls. of dried parsley and a small onion (which I lightly sauteed first) and then added to the beef/wine mixture for reducing. It was a little liquidy even though I let it stand for 10 mins. after baking. May add 2 tsp. flour or corn starch just to thicken a little...but not by much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTI68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Good. Easy! For some reason I ended up with too much liquid and it overflowed the pir crust. I'd love to blame the recipie but it was probably operator error. Overall a quick and reasonable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbg205
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very good pot pie. I used the refrigerated pie crusts which were perfectly cooked. The canned mixed vegetables I used had potatoes which was a nice addition to the pie. I might explore using frozen vegetables next time to see if their was a big difference. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
We made 10 pies' worth of this recipe for a big group. It was very easy, but I found it somewhat bland. I would also at least double the meat:vegetable ratio if I was going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Very nice. I added bacon to the browning chuck steak cubes and used store bought puff pastry. I used beef stock instead of red wine and frozen veg. Before I added the pastry lid, I covered the meat mixture with a layer of tasty cheddar cheese slices. My hubby loves steak, bacon and cheese pie. Because I added the bacon it was a lot saltier and next time I will use salt-reduced stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States