Easy Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great recipe. I did add a can of corn. I cut salsa to about 1/2 C. and then added the French dressing a little at a time until I was happy with the taste. Very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I have made this recipe many times - it is SO easy and always a crowd pleaser. I've tried all sorts of different salad dressings depending on what I have around, and they all work and add some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Well I needed something quick for tomorrow's lunch and decided to make a bean medly salad. I came across this unique recipe of the salsa and french dressing and decided to try it. I used a can of 4 bean medly, chick peas, kidney beans, romano and black eye peas. I put the garlic and the salsa in with less of the requested French dressing and I was quit surprised. I didn't put the water chestnuts but for a quick and easy bean salad this turned out pretty good. I have a tossed leaf salad in a tupper wear and I will be adding the bean salad on top of it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pslgodfather
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Yet another recipe that seem to bring the guys around during sports seasons! Quick, cheap, and easy to make, although I end up substituting serving the French dressing for Italian and put the salsa on the side. The amount of beans called for makes loads of salad, and it tastes even better the next day once all of the beans have marinated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This salad is good. I changed a few things like adding Kidney beans instead of Garbonzo beans and added more salsa. The only thing I would change in the recipe is less dressing and more garlic and salsa. I felt it just needed a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This recipe was interesting, and it did taste good, but there wasn't really anything exciting about it. I took it to a potluck and brought most of it home. I added the corn as someone suggested and that added to the flavor and color. If you are looking for healthy alternatives I suppose this recipe isn't so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Mmmm...healthy AND yummy. I just made this for a huge bbq get together. Most of the little kids even seemed to like it. I used black beans, kidney beans, chickpeas, and decided to add a can of corn to make it look more appealing to the masses. I will definitely use this as a quick & easy standby for potluck bbq type gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Great recipe. I didn't have any French dressing so I used Honey Dijon instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Since this recipe invited you to try different beans I made a typical 3 bean salad with kidney, wax, green and garbanzo beans. I added a little onion and left out the water chestnuts. The unusual dressing was really the thing that was supposed to give the typical bean salad a lift over the vinegar, oil and sugar type. I wasn’t impressed. It just tasted like French dressing with some salsa mixed in it and not something unique unto itself. I did try some sliced almonds. Maybe mine were old but If I do make this again I would totally leave the almonds out, did nothing for it. It may be better the second day too. Good starter idea to use salad dressing on the beans though, maybe I’ll try Ranch with the salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
A great explosion of flavor combination. This is an excellent bean salad. I used kidney beans, green beans and garbanzo beans. I added slivered almonds, as another reviewer recommended. Using "medium" salsa (a nice level of "hot") provided the perfect counterpoint to the sweetness of the no-fat French dressing. I will repeat this recipe many times down the road. I'm always looking for good side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States