Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this with blueberries and blackberries that were on their last days. I usually make recipes with high ratings because I know they will most likely turn out really well - but this one left something to be desired. The dough part just wasn't what I expected at all. It was very sweet and not very cake like. It was certainly quick and easy to make, but I don't know if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meo Feroy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
After reading other reviews, I used peaches and blueberries and doubled the quantity. I also used 1/2 c. sugar and 1 TBS of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It turned out very good. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
When I have very little time & need an easy dessert that also impresses guests, I make this.....have experimented with different fruit. Fresh strawberries are good as well. Peaches were ok - blueberries are probably my favorite. My husband loves the strawberry. I add a little extra sugar on top before I bake. And I always serve warm with Breyers vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The batter has no flavor and has as its purpose simply holding the blueberries. The blueberries are OK but not sweet as I had hoped. Nothing was juicy or delicious--I found this dish over-rated and nondescript. Also, because nothing was said about the melted butter in the pan, I assumed the batter was poured on top of it. I think that should have been clarified. I'm sorry I wasted the blueberries on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Excellent and Easy. I needed something easy with frozen berries and this was perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My family loved it - thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
EASY & DELICIOUS! I could go on forever about how good this cobbler is! Everyone who tries it loves it! I have used fresh & frozen fruit (some times 2 cups, most of the time 3+), usually a combination (fresh peaches & frozen blueberries or blackberries being our favorites). Canned sweet potatoes are another favorite we like to use. I usually add a heavy teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter. And I sprinkle a generous spoonful of cinnamon (when you sprinkle on the sugar, right before baking), too. The crust is amazing & it has just the right amount of sweetness. The recipe as is, is perfection & can be easily doubled or altered (like adjusting the amount of butter, adding the vanilla extract & cinnamon, etc., etc., etc.,...) to your liking. I've tried several different cobbler recipes, this is the best so far, by far! It's so simple, usually have the ingredients on hand & you can mix it up with endless different filling ideas. I won't be looking for any new recipes for this any time soon. Absolutely a staple worthy recipe! Thank you, Pam Anderson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is so easy & perfect!!!! I used an 8 x 8 dish with 2 cans of "no high fructose corn syrup" peach pie filling & sprinkled lots of cinnamon sugar on top prior to placing it in the oven. Cooking the cobbler for 50 minutes was perfect! We let it sit for 15 minutes to cool down & thicken up before digging in!! My family absolutely loved it!!! I will definitely use this recipe again & try different pie fillings for variety!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I took it out around 40-45 minutes, otherwise it would have burned. It It was a bit more buttery (taste, not texture) than I expected. It's a bit mushy with the strawberries and chewy on the crust. But I like chewy so I am happy. Plus it made the house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe because it was so easy and quick to make. It calls for things I have on hand almost all of the time. We don't use much refined sugar in our household, so I used 1/2 cup of maple syrup instead and added in about 3/4 cup of steel cut oats to the batter. One of the critiques I read said that it didn't fill the pan. Maybe because of the added oatmeal, it filled the pan nicely in my case. I made it two nights in a row, once with raspberries and strawberries from the garden, and the following night with some peaches that were threatening to go bad before being eaten. It was fabulous both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States