Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Dayum, this was good. I made this with strawberries and replaced about an 1/8 cup of the sugar with my own cinnamon-sugar mixture (3 tbsp sugar: 1 tbsp cinnamon). I sprinkled that mixture on top instead of the straight sugar as well. I also made this with Earth Balance and almond milk, turning this dessert into an incredible vegan treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I love this recipe, easy and delicious. I made it as per recipe, no changes, and used fresh blueberries, cherries, and raspberries. The edges were crispy and buttery and the middle was fruity. I served it with vanilla ice cream and the whole family was in heaven. I love Pam's recipes; her scone recipe is my go to for scones and this will now be my go to for cobbler. Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was delicious and ridiculously quick and easy. I used only 3 T butter and only 1/2 cup sugar combined brown and white. Also I substituted white whole wheat flour. The fruit I used this time was a combination of cherries, blueberries and raspberries. I will definitely be making this again with other combinations in the near future. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is now my go to cobbler recipe. I made it last night for a small dinner party and everyone loved it. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used 3+cups fruit (blueberries & peaches- yum!); I also cut back by 1/3 on the sugar but left all other proportions of the batter the same. I placed fruit in the bottom of the dish and then poured batter over it. It came out just beautifully with crispy edges, etc. I baked about 15 minutes or so longer than required until the top of the batter was golden brown and just sprung lightly to the touch. Thanks to the author for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe had way too much butter. I would cut it back or I would double the cake ingredients. It tasted good, but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and delicious! I read the other reviews and increased the fresh blueberries to 3 1/2 cups. It was amazing! I might have left in the oven a bit too long. The corners were a bit crunchy. Not burnt, but just a little crunchy. My blueberries were a tad sour so I increased the sugar at the end to 2 tablespoons. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Unbelievably easy and delicious! The 2nd time I made it, I decided to use only 2.5 Tbsp butter and 1/2 C sugar and omit the sugar sprinkle on top and it still came out great! This can be made with many different fruits. It's now my go-to dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I was looking for a way to use up some over-ripe peaches along with some blueberries and cherries. It was very easy and my teenage daughter raved about it. The only change I made to the dough was adding some cinnamon, which added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Delicious and super easy! I used a mix of frozen blueberries and strawberries only because I didn't have anything fresh at the moment. This one is a keeper for me. I can't wait to use it with my next garden strawberries ~ Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great simple recipe. But, I would say that it is not appropriate for sweeter or riper fruits. I used fresh blueberries and thought the batter was just a little too sweet to suit them. Now, if I had added a tart peach to the mix, it would have been perfect. Also, I saw lots of folks complain about mushiness. I believe the problem is that they aren't cooking the cobbler long enough. Mine-amounts as recipe states-took about 70 minutes before it was properly bubbling fruit and browned batter. Don't take it out too early or it certainly will be mush. Mine was too sweet to pair with ice cream, but, went great with whipped cream. I would think this would be a five star if you stuck with peaches/plums/pears or even less-ripe strawberries. Update: used same recipe with peaches and blueberries this time. It had to cook about 90 minutes to get to the right consistency. Although the taste was still great, it did not store as well as the blueberry-only version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States