Easy Banana Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe and I am continually perfecting it. These changes should yield a compromise between fudgy and cakey. For 8x8 pan you can try these changes: (They won 3rd prize at the Minnesota State Fair in August-2009) Here are the changes: 2 eggs instead of one. 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar instead of 2/3 cup. 5 oz semi sweet and 1 oz bittersweet chips or baking bars (for about a whole cup total chocolate to melt) instead of 2/3 cups. 6 Tablespoons butter instead of 1/2 cup. About 4 inches of banana, then mash ( or a little more if you like strong banana flavor.) 1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder mixed into the flour and salt mixture. Optional to FOLD into completed batter: 1/2 cup lightly toasted pecans and 1/2 cup semi sweet chips. No change to vanilla, flour, or salt. Follow mixing instructions in recipe. ONLY GREASE BOTTOM OF PAN. Bake at 325 for at least 35 minutes to 40 min. Check at 35 min. You should get a shiny, crackly crust. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Fantastic and easy. I doubled these and made them in a 9x13 pan. I also added some extra chocolate chips to the batter right before baking. They took about 35 minutes in my oven and were chewy and delicious. They don't need frosting, but I was taking them to an event and dressed them up with the banana buttercream icing from this site. They disappeared very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are the best brownies I have ever made. I had to share them with our neighbors! I doubled the recipe. Instead of doubling the butter to one cup, I used only half a cup of butter plus half a cup of extra mashed banana. The brownies are moist, delicious, and nobody missed the extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
To the reviewer on 2-11-12: You should not rate a recipe 3 out of 5 stars if you did not follow the recipe or the adjusted recipe as I mentioned below. It is not fair. 1-18-12: I followed the changes made by the submitter on July 1, 2009 on page 4 of these reviews. First, I did NOT change the flour or salt or vanilla. I used 2 eggs instead of one, 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar, 5 oz semi sweet and 1 oz bittersweet chips to equal 1 cup total to melt, 6 Tablespoons butter, about 4 inches of banana, then mash, 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder mixed into the flour and salt mixture. Once batter was mixed I mixed in 1/2 cup toasted pecans and 1/2 cup semi sweet regular sized chips-NOT mini chips. If you use mini chips, they melt into the batter and the top won't be shiny. I can taste why these won a ribbon at the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Moist, tasty brownies. I too had to bake them a little longer so that the middle was not runny. The banana flavor is not too overwhelming, but is present. Added extra chocolate chips at the end--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I gave this a go and all in all, it's pretty tasty. My one banana is a bit overwhelming, but I think I just find the combo a bit strange. I will use less butter next time--1/2 cup is an entire stick and my poor brownies are a bit buttery still! The flavor is very interesting and keeps growing on me. The only real complaint I have here is the listed cook time--20 minutes? No way. I checked at 20...25...30...35...40 was the winner. 4 stars for flavor and ease of preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I tried making some changes that did not turn out so well. First, do not use more banana than this recipe calls for. Second, do not substitute wheat flour for the white. The flavor was not good. I will give this a try again with the original recipe and then re-rate. I always end up with overripe bananas in my house so it's good to have a way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My friend made these. She didn't have chocolate chips in the cupboard so she used butterscotch chips instead. Delicious!!! Next we are going to try peanut butter chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I love brownies & this did it for me. Added chopped pecans, they came out perfect; chocolaty, gooey and crusty all at the same time. Fantastic reheated with some vanilla ice cream....Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I just made these - they were delicious. :] My family likes them better than regular brownies, and none of them were too thrilled by the concept of "banana brownies" at first! I read the reviews first and doubled the recipe but used only the original half cup of butter and added a half cup of mashed banana. I used milk chocolate chips, too, instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips and it certainly didn't have any adverse effects as far as taste goes. These were moist and fudgy and not cakelike (I'm not a fan of cakelike brownies.) The chocolate-to-banana ratio was perfect. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States