Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is my husband's favorite desert and he said it was better than the gourmet stuff we usually buy. I thought I could have used a little less of the syrup and more phyllo (it was VERY nutty) but it's still very good. Great to eat alone or on vanilla ice cream! I used pecans as the nuts and they definently added to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe has been a HUGE hit every time I've made it. It's really not hard to make, just a little time-consuming, but definitely worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This recipe is THE EASIEST & THE BEST!!!! I think it might be a bit less "nutty" though if you grind up the walnuts a bit in the blender or food processor. I use pecans and walnuts and it's really great! I also refrigerate it for a couple of hours just to sort of give it the extra "glue" it needs before serving. Everyone loves it and it's better than the bakery kind!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I loved it! So easy to make and so right!. It was my first time doing it and it came out perfect. I added extra nuts (like it nutty) and did two exchanges, for less calories: 1) used fat free margarine, instead of butter; 2)replaced half of the sugar with sweetner. 3) Did a second batch of syrup, but just honey and water, no sugar or lemon (like syrupy also:) Delicious! Very easy to make and directions were good too. Next time I'm thinking of replacing all the sugar with sweetner (got watch my calories), I'm sure it will be delicious as well. I'll never buy baklavas again. Thank you for sharing the recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
My boyfriend's favorite thing is baklava so I needed a recipe! This worked great, it was easy, and he was impressed! It was better than the baklava at my local greek restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This recipe is better than most baklava that I buy in resteraunts! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAPAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aynor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Wonderful! I used pecans and added 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves plus whole cloves on top for garnish. I also added 1 cup honey vs. 1/2 cup honey. Make sure you let the syrup cool completely. I made the syrup first, and then did then pastry. Dribble butter on the pastry first vs. trying to brush it all on. I was really happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Very easy and extra yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This is absolutely a very easy recipe, and it turnout very good. I added more honey for the syrup, and make sure to use generous amount of butter to stick the pastry layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is great and much easier than I thought. It is very important to cover the phyllo with a damp towell while working with it. Also, use a bit more honey, like 3/4 c., and orange zest works just fine, too. It is better with just pecans than mixed nuts. Careful not to over-saturate the layers with butter; brush on rather than drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States