Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is delicious!!! I made a couple of changes, I increased honey to 3/4 cup and added 1/8 teaspoon cloves. Next time I will use 8 layers of dough before adding the first layer of nuts, with only 2 layers of phyllo the bottom is very mushy. Mine was done in 43 minutes. thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very good recipe. I've been making baklava for years. I have always purchased a disposable foil pan (1/2 sheet cake size) and it seems to fit the full phyllo sheets perfectly. I only make a Christmastime so I have to make in large quantity and this pan yeilds approximately 60-70 pieces, depending how you cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is great and much easier than I thought. It is very important to cover the phyllo with a damp towell while working with it. Also, use a bit more honey, like 3/4 c., and orange zest works just fine, too. It is better with just pecans than mixed nuts. Careful not to over-saturate the layers with butter; brush on rather than drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is my husband's favorite desert and he said it was better than the gourmet stuff we usually buy. I thought I could have used a little less of the syrup and more phyllo (it was VERY nutty) but it's still very good. Great to eat alone or on vanilla ice cream! I used pecans as the nuts and they definently added to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was AMAZING! My boyfriend and I always get Baklava at a Greek Restaurant in town, and we both thought this was MUCH better!! It was sooooo easy to make, followed the recipe exactly, although I also had a lot of dough left over. Mine also cooked in about half the time, good thing i was watching it!! We took what we didnt eat that night on a road trip with his family the next day, and they devoured it!! None of them believed I actually made it, they were all impressed. Will be making this constantly, all this talking about it makes me want more actually...... another batch here I come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
AWESOME! Very authentic taste. Super, super easy to make...time consuming, but easy. This was THE HIT of the party and the best dessert there. I followed the recipe to the tee and did not change a thing. To those who think the syrup needed to be cooled, it does not. I poured the entire amount of syrup over top while it was still hot and bubbly and it soaked in and hardened up just fine. What an awesome dessert for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was awesome, I used walnuts and almonds for the nuts, and used pumpkin pie spice and lots of extra cinnamon for the spices. I served it at a dinner party and there was only one piece left! Also since I was pinched for time, I poured the syrup on right after it came out of the oven, and it was just fine. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I've never had baklava before now so I can't compare, but my family loved this recipe. My husband kept making people try it and he's a very picky eater. I think next time I make it I'll follow someone else's advice and use a little more honey and maybe a tad more cinnamon. I used pecans, walnuts, and almonds. I bought them already chopped in the baking section at the grocery store. I didn't have lemon so I squeezed a little juice from a fresh orange in the syrup as it was simmering. Well worth the time it takes to put everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
My husband is from Jordan, he and his brother loved it and it's a big hit with my family for parties, they are always asking me to bring my famous Baklawa :) Thanks will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is FANTASTIC. Easy and tasty. Everyone LOVES this and the recipe is so easy I have it memorized!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimee Lynn
Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States