Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Phenomenal. We could not stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just tried the baklava I made, which varied only slightly from this recipe, and it's not super sweet but still rather yummy. I used all pecans for the filling, instead of the mixed nuts the recipe called for, and I used dried grated lemon peel (instead of fresh lemon zest) as well as raw honey in the syrup mixture. I buttered each of the layers using a pastry brush dipped in melted margarine, but using only as much margarine as I needed to lightly coat each layer [each layer really being a set of two sheets of the dough]. I also cut the baklava into the traditional triangles [or how it is typically sold] prior to pouring the syrup mixture into it, so that the syrup could cut through the layers. Because I had all my ingredients ready and measured out in advance, I found no need to cover the dough with a damp cloth in between adding the layers. Phyllo dough tears so easily, it's wonderful how the boxes it is sold in these days include sheets that fit about perfectly into a 9 x 13" pan (with no need to cut it in half), so layering it all took some patience but came to roughly the half hour the recipe said it would. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Arvillalar! Surely, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
WONDERFUL! EASY! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I had never made Baklava before and this came out beautifully. Everyone, even the picky eaters, loved it. I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've made this recipe a handful of times and it turns out excellent every time. A little bit time consuming but so worth the effort. My only change is that I leave out the lemon zest. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Too easy to make. Be sure everyone takes some home if there are leftovers. I ate all that was left in short order. I thought about licking the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe. I like how versatile it is with the nuts. I used a mixture of pecans and walnuts. I only had one problem and it was totally my fault because I apparently am not taking the "simple" party of simple syrup literally. I didn't cook the simple syrup long enough and perhaps that is the reason why the baklava turned out a little soggy. Same great flavor but really soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariannedsaint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Mine came out a bit dry. Next time I will make sure to grind nuts more finely. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great!! I thought that making baklava for the first time would be complicated, but it was surprisingly easy, as long as you're gentle with the phyllo dough and use enough butter. =) They were delicious and vanished fast. The second time we made them, though, we added some almonds which was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
First time ever making baklava, and it came out just about perfect with this recipe! I used pistachios, almonds, and cashews, pretty much in equal parts. I would never use pecans for this recipe, because it is already very sweet. But that's only a personal preference from someone who doesn't even like pecan pie. I also upped the honey to about 3/4 C, and added a little extra lemon zest as well. I put 6 layers of phyllo on the bottom, but next time I will try 8. Bottom is a little fragile. But, that doesn't seem to be stopping it from disappearing! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States