Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is the very best baklava I've ever made. Recipe very easy to follow, too. I changed nothing nor will I ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I think there should have been more sheets between the layers esp at the bottom... wasnt sure which nuts to use walnuts went fine but I also used hazelnuts and that wasnt too good. Cutting it before cooking resulted in the top sheets curing up and the nuts inside to overcook. It was okay but not like what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Phenomenal. We could not stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just tried the baklava I made, which varied only slightly from this recipe, and it's not super sweet but still rather yummy. I used all pecans for the filling, instead of the mixed nuts the recipe called for, and I used dried grated lemon peel (instead of fresh lemon zest) as well as raw honey in the syrup mixture. I buttered each of the layers using a pastry brush dipped in melted margarine, but using only as much margarine as I needed to lightly coat each layer [each layer really being a set of two sheets of the dough]. I also cut the baklava into the traditional triangles [or how it is typically sold] prior to pouring the syrup mixture into it, so that the syrup could cut through the layers. Because I had all my ingredients ready and measured out in advance, I found no need to cover the dough with a damp cloth in between adding the layers. Phyllo dough tears so easily, it's wonderful how the boxes it is sold in these days include sheets that fit about perfectly into a 9 x 13" pan (with no need to cut it in half), so layering it all took some patience but came to roughly the half hour the recipe said it would. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Arvillalar! Surely, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
WONDERFUL! EASY! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I had never made Baklava before and this came out beautifully. Everyone, even the picky eaters, loved it. I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've made this recipe a handful of times and it turns out excellent every time. A little bit time consuming but so worth the effort. My only change is that I leave out the lemon zest. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Too easy to make. Be sure everyone takes some home if there are leftovers. I ate all that was left in short order. I thought about licking the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe. I like how versatile it is with the nuts. I used a mixture of pecans and walnuts. I only had one problem and it was totally my fault because I apparently am not taking the "simple" party of simple syrup literally. I didn't cook the simple syrup long enough and perhaps that is the reason why the baklava turned out a little soggy. Same great flavor but really soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariannedsaint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Mine came out a bit dry. Next time I will make sure to grind nuts more finely. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States