Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this recipe just as written and I do not understand why some people felt the need to increase the honey, it really is superb as written. I have made this several times and always comes out fantastic, my friends and family LOVE this Easy Baklava!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stroh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I just made this and it's delicious! I made a couple substitutions: raw organic Agave nectar instead of honey, and Bajan brown sugar (nice big granules) instead of white sugar. I also took someone's advice and added cloves and a cinnamon stick to the syrup. I cannot wait to serve this at my dinner party tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was very yummy and really easy. It tastes very similar to my Greek Great Aunty Tina's recipe. Hers is thicker, so next time I will use 1.5 lbs. nuts. I used all walnuts, chopped them finely in my food processor and bumped the cinnamon up to 1.5 tsp and added a 1/4 tsp ground cloves. It's imperative to cut the baklava into pieces before baking. If you wait til after, all the phyllo layers will shatter and it won't absorb the honey syrup properly. The temp and time are perfect. Mine did not burn at all. I am bringing this to my Papouli (grandfather) who has recently been moved to a nursing home. This will surely brighten his day! Thanks for sharing this simple version of a wonderful Greek confection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was Wonderful , follwed the directions & it turned out perfect 1st time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bouquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Delicious!!!! increased sugar & water syrup second time by 1/2 cup each...and added cinnamon stick while simmering. you can simply use whole sheets, and just fold them over ( was easier to keep track of layers), and after looking at many recipes, and watching a video from "food network', did this: 8 sheets ( 4 full/folded) as base...and on top...with 2 sheet layers inbetween.....and garnished top with crushed pistachio mmmmmh!!. took it to a birthday party, and apparently was a 'favorite of the night' of 25 people! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was delicious and just like the name...easy. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I've always loved eating baklava, but have been intimidated at the thought of making it myself. I wish I'd found this recipe sooner! I followed the directions, and the only change I made was adding a little extra cinnamon (we love it in our house) - it turned out even better than I'd hoped! Unfortunately, it was gone the next day - my husband's buddies scarfed it up - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Delicious! I don't think I'd call it easy - but baklava isn't an easy dish to prepare, which is why it's so special. I used almonds, which I chopped and toasted. I added a touch of allspice with my cinnamon, and just a bit of sugar, to mix into the nuts. The lemon zest in the syrup really adds a great flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is an easy awesome recipe with lovely results. I have made this several times, using orange zest, and it's gone quickly every time. I use more like 5-6 tbsp of the chopped nuts (I use walnut) per layer, start with 6 leaves of the phyllo and put 4 in between, top with 6, according to other reviews. I use a Pampered Chef chopper for the nuts, goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good and easy recipe. The only change I made was to use rose water instead of plain water because that is what my god mother used when I was little, and it gives it a special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States