Easy Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe was awesome, my family stated it was better than a greek restaurant they went to recently. Thank you Arvillalar! JP 1/6/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Unlike some of the other reviews, this took 50 minutes on the dot for me. Everyone was saying it was the best Baklava they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tailwagger
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was the first time I've made baklava and it was delicious! I did make a couple of adjustments though. Instead of grated lemon zest I used 3/4 TBSP freshly squeezed lemon juice. I also used 3/4 cup honey instead of 1/2 cup and added a few extra phyllo layers to the bottom, brushing butter lightly in the pan first. I used a disposable pan but noticed that I accidentally cut a couple of small holes in it when I was cutting the baklava. When I added the juice, it was running out of the holes. It still turned out delicious though. My family raved about this baklava and I plan on making this for our toga party in Feb. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good recipe! My grandma was from Athens but passed away before I could get too many of her delicious recipes - I think she would have been proud of this!! One tip though: This recipe doesn't specify that you need to put extra phyllo on the bottom of the pan. Once you pour the honey mixture on top the bottom gets saturated, so if you don't have enough phyllo it kind of falls apart. I WILL try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
By far the best baklava recipe I've tried. Takes some time (and patience) but worth it. Took it to a church potluck, and it was the first thing gone from the dessert table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Make sure to check the time constantly! It says it's suppose to bake for 50 minutes so I'm not sure why my batch burnt after 30 minutes. I did three layers of nuts but they were lightly sprinkled on so maybe that had something to do with it. I think I used less than a pound so next time I will make sure I have the right amount. This it the first time I've made it so I may try a different recipe for it or try a smaller amount. The syrup came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I did not have enough walnuts so I used 1/3 walnuts, 1/3 sliced almonds, and 1/3 cranberries (chopped in coffee grinder). I used homemade dandelion syrup instead of the water and sugar, I substituted orange extract for the lemon, and I boiled it for 35 minutes to reduce it. I placed buttered parchment paper on bottom and used jelly roll pan, I only needed to bake mine for 35 minutes. One recommendation I have is to try and spread the nut mixture all the way to the edges. I did not do a good job of that and I ended up with a mounded effect. Fantastic and easy, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by riclee19
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
YUMMY! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riclee19
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I agree with the others that the taste of honey is better so I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup and increased the honey by 1/4 cup. I didn't have lemon zest so I used orange (like another reviewer) and then I added some lime zest. Cooking the syrup, I really liked the zest flavor so I ended up using about 2-3 tsp. You can also add more cinnamon to the syrup if you like. I also agree with another reviewer that you need at least 8 layers of phyllo on the bottom. I had a hard time cutting the pastry once I buttered the top layer but if I don't butter it first, they slide all over. If I butter it first, they stick to my knife and still slide... Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States