Easy Bakewell Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Definitely not a Bakewell Tart - no almond flavouring at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
My Grandmother used to make these for us too :) We loved them ...and still do! Our family has called them Queen Ann tarts and Empire tarts....have to confirm with my grandfather the real name. Thank you for sharing this as I needed to make some and couldn't find a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Why is everyone surprised that these aren't a traditional Bakewell tart?? It clearly states that underneath the title in the authors comments. They are her Grannys quick version. I made some for a bake sale as I had run out of steam making 'traditional' biscotti and 'traditional' danish biscuits. They were super easy to make as you can tell from the ingredients. I 'tarted' them up a little with a teaspoon of almond extract and garnished with some flaked almonds. Thank you for posting x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I liked the simplicity of this recipe, but somehow the simple idea turned into a disaster. The jam spread out to the edges of the muffin tins and beneath the pie crust, and glued the whole thing to the bottom of the (nonstick!) pan. They were impossible to get out of the pan without destroying them. The pieces of cake and jam that came out tasted good (it was just cake mix & jam, after all), but the pie crust layer was permanently left in the bottom of the tins. I've never had a problem with pie crust sticking like this before. I'm not sure if they should have been left in the tins to cool - maybe removing them immediately would help? Using muffin liners might also help, but it seems like they'd still be a mess to remove from the liners and try to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Believe me, this is not an authentic Bakewell Tart recipe - not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Queenstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
coming from Bakewell I had to try this recipe.I found it interesting there was no ground almonds in it. I shall stick to the recipe my mum uses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This just isn't a bakewell tart as it hasn't got the almond flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These are not real without any almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Sorry, but you can't have a traditional English Bakewell tart without almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
The ladies in my Bunko group seemed to like these. I used raspberry preserves. After tasting one I decided to add a light powdered sugar, cream cheese glaze. If I make them again, I will brown the crust a little before adding the preserves and cake mix. No one realized that there was pie crust on the bottom since it was the same color as the yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States