Easy Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have literally made this weekly and eat it every single day for breakfast for almost a year now. Under the recommendation from a cardiologist friend (who was recommending oatmeal and flax seed powder daily for my cholesterol), I started substituting three of the eggs in this recipe for an equivalent amount of flax seed powder (as an egg substitute, per bottle directions). A few things I've tried: this is delicious with added blueberries, strawberries or raspberries. I also like to add pecans. Sometimes I sprinkle flaked coconut throughout, or on top, or both. I actually prefer this with the regular oatmeal - not the quick cook kind. I find that the flax seed powder and the quick cook oats together gave it a gummy texture, but the regular oats solved that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Made as is, I find this recipe too dry. Today I tweaked it with 2 mashed bananas and increasing the oil to 1 cup. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I used applesauce instead of oil, and replaced walnuts with fresh blueberries! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thank you. This is exactly what I was looking for. I wouldn't change a thing. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good. I added raisin and craisins, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I also used olive oil instead of canola. Served it with either can peaches with whip cream (you need the syrup from the canned stuff, the oatmeal is drier) or with cream or milk pored over the top. Very filling. Entire family ate it. I would suggest you cut the recipe and cook time if you are going to only be serving a few people. This recipe makes a lot to go around :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very dry and not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It's a good start.. I added 1/2 C Raisins and a tsp. of cinnamon. Omitted the walnuts and served topped w/ maple syrup. This would just be too plain w/out the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
what an awesome change for my oatmeal-loving, gluten-free husband. he's loving this for breakfast as are the kids. i love it room temp as a snack... re-heat for breakfast with a little honey or maple syrup drizzled over. next time, i'm going to thrown some chopped apples in. this time, i did add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I liked this recipe but forgot to add the butter. It still turned out great, but for some reason there wasn't much rise in the end product. Plus, I used blueberries. I am trying to simulate a baked oatmeal that I have purchased locally in Harrisburg. I haven't gotten there yet, but this was a start. Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Baked oatmeal is all about the full fat milk heated with nutmeg and sometimes cloves and cardamom you pour over it! Give it a try and have a little brown sugar or honey on hand for those with a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States