Easy Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
The fifth star is only missing because I only loved it as much as I did because I tweaked the recipe based on the comments. I do not like my oatmeal super sweet and really don't think breakfast should be so high in added sugar. So I reduced the brown sugar to a 1/4 cup. Also used unsweetened applesauce for half the butter, added double the cranberries, and added chopped pecans and fresh blueberries. I also serve with a little milk poured on top, otherwise it can be too dry. I made two pans of this to share at an Easter potluck brunch and it was a MAJOR hit, everyone loved it. Made it again for hubby and me at home, and we really enjoyed the leftovers for breakfast all week. Finally I can stop buying boxed cereal for my husband. I'd give it the fifth star, but with the extra sugar I know it would be far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Ellen Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
It's blend, and the texture is weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have literally made this weekly and eat it every single day for breakfast for almost a year now. Under the recommendation from a cardiologist friend (who was recommending oatmeal and flax seed powder daily for my cholesterol), I started substituting three of the eggs in this recipe for an equivalent amount of flax seed powder (as an egg substitute, per bottle directions). A few things I've tried: this is delicious with added blueberries, strawberries or raspberries. I also like to add pecans. Sometimes I sprinkle flaked coconut throughout, or on top, or both. I actually prefer this with the regular oatmeal - not the quick cook kind. I find that the flax seed powder and the quick cook oats together gave it a gummy texture, but the regular oats solved that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Made as is, I find this recipe too dry. Today I tweaked it with 2 mashed bananas and increasing the oil to 1 cup. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I used applesauce instead of oil, and replaced walnuts with fresh blueberries! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thank you. This is exactly what I was looking for. I wouldn't change a thing. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good. I added raisin and craisins, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I also used olive oil instead of canola. Served it with either can peaches with whip cream (you need the syrup from the canned stuff, the oatmeal is drier) or with cream or milk pored over the top. Very filling. Entire family ate it. I would suggest you cut the recipe and cook time if you are going to only be serving a few people. This recipe makes a lot to go around :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very dry and not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It's a good start.. I added 1/2 C Raisins and a tsp. of cinnamon. Omitted the walnuts and served topped w/ maple syrup. This would just be too plain w/out the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
what an awesome change for my oatmeal-loving, gluten-free husband. he's loving this for breakfast as are the kids. i love it room temp as a snack... re-heat for breakfast with a little honey or maple syrup drizzled over. next time, i'm going to thrown some chopped apples in. this time, i did add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States