Easy Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I used this on our Christmas Day ham and it was FABULOUS! Since it was a whole ham, I spiked it with whole cloves around the top and used fresh pineapple (that I cut into rings and placed on top of the ham). I mixed the brown sugar into the ginger ale (Vernors of course) and poured that overtop and let it drain into the bottom of the pan where I placed some pineapple chunks. Every 10 minutes I basted with the juice from the bottom of the pan, adding more gingerale as needed. This was the BEST ham I have ever made. It wasn't too sweet (we don't like that) and the cloves weren't over-powering and the best part was that the ham was so juicy!! I will make ham like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I will never fix a ham the old way again. This is amazing. For me it's so much easier to already have the ham sliced while it's still cold. I had a packet of sugar glaze that came with the ham so I used 1/3 of the packet mixed with the brown sugar. Everyone loved it. I kept the liquid and served it as a gravy and that was also a hit. I bet this works well with pork chops! Hummm, I'll let you know. Happy Holidays to all and thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was OK..a little too sweet and probably just baking spiral ham would have been easier but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I use the same ingredients on a bone-in ham the way my Mother used to do it. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was my first christmas dinner. Loved this recipe! The ham was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kroppiee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was the most easiest to bake, moist, and delicious ham I've ever had....Loved It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
We served this as a holiday meal and really liked the overall flavor that the ginger ale, pineapple an brown sugar(I cut back a little) provided. I also liked the fact that I could trim the fat prior cooking---- quite delicious actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delicious! Perfect for our Christmas dinner! My husband followed the recipe and used Diet Ginger Ale. We cooked the ham in a roasting pan. It looked so pretty that I will use this recipe for company. All 4 kids liked it too-added bonus! Leftovers will be great in sub sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used a smoked boneless ham and prepared according to the recipe. The pineapple juice and ginger ale completely washed out all of the salt and flavor of the meat. Will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this today for the first time. I made a syrup out of the brown sugar and pineapple juice,then poured the Vernor s Ginger Ale over it. I did not have enough aluminum foil,so I used a Turkey cooking bag. It made clean a breeze,and nothing got dried out. This is definitely a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States