Easy Baked Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was a great recipe. Instead of pounding the chicken flat and rolling it, I made a pocket in the chicken breast and stuffed the ham and cheese stick inside. I cut the cheese sticks in half and rolled them up in the ham. This kept the cheese from oozing out. I sealed the pocket closed with toothpicks and then rolled the chicken in the butter and bread crumbs. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
646 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These were great. I made the recipe "Chicken Cordon Blue II" (also from this site) the night before and had some sauce left over, so I made this recipe for the chicken the second day and served it with that sauce to do a comparison. To me the sauce is the best part so I would probably recommend that recipe over this one. However, I think I enjoyed the chicken more with this recipe because it was so juicy. So if you make this recipe, try making the sauce from the other recipe to go along with it. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joyforever143
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Good recipe simple directions to follow. My only advice is to incorporate a sauce otherwise its a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyforever143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Family loved this chicken dish. I did not pound out the chicken breasts. I had 4 large chicken breasts about 1/2 pound each and I was able to slice an opening down the middle of each breast to put the rolled up ham slices and cheese. I used about 3 tooth picks per chicken breast. My bread crumbs were not seasoned so I added 1 tsp Italian seasoning and garlic powder. I also went ahead and decided to add my own sauce since one review said it was a little dry alone. I mixed one can cream of chicken soup(98% fat free) with about 1/4-1/2 cup white cooking wine and poured it over the chicken before baking. I cooked it for about an hour or until the soup mixture got bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soperton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
It was very easy to make, and tasted so good!! It is hard to get the toothpicks out, so I suggest taking them out before serving the dish so that your guests don't have to go digging. Other than that, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I LOVED this recipe! I will be cooking this again to entertain. I also fried the chicken in butter then baked it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Very tender and appealing to the eye as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annak
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipe would've been great if it had a different cheese. I made it tonight using the cheese sticks and they didn't melt and it was in the oven about 50 minutes at about 375 degrees. My husband requested chicken cordon bleu but this isn't what he expected. It isn't bad, it just isn't good. Next time I will be using either sliced cheese or shreded and I won't be pounding the chicken, it's easier to just make a pocket and stuff everything in it. A lot of effort that didn't pay off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I really like this recipe. It's definitely messy, but its quick and very tasty. I used 2 slices of virginia ham and 1 slice of swiss, and rolled up the chicken and secured with a bunch of toothpicks and the cheese did not run out at all. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was amazingly good!!!I followed the recipe exactly except I used Swiss cheese instead of mozzerella.Sooo tasty!It is messy trying to take out the toothpicks, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Great, easy recipe. I made it for my boyfriend and his room-mates and they loved it! The local store was out of bread crumbs so I used cornflake crumbs and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States