Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I came to this site expecting to try several quiche recipes, but started with this one and haven’t strayed since…THANKS DAWNROBYN. This is remarkably easy and tasty and I have been able to make it work in many variations…so here goes: 1. Yes, the Hormel/Oscar Meyer Real Bacon is perfect for this. 2. Swiss is good for the first time, but don’t be afraid to try gouda, cheddar, or any hard cheese you like (add 5-10 min cooking with cheddar). 3. Don’t leave out the (approx 1/3rd Cup) parmesan/romano cheese even if you’ve changed the swiss, it helps add to the creamy texture of the final product. 4. Adjust onions to taste; oldest daughter wants none, I want more. Scallions give it a very rich onion flavor and the frozen chopped save time, but fresh Vidalia is best. 5. I’ve also discovered frozen chopped red/green peppers, these needed to be chopped a bit more finely. 6. I have found that adding frozen ingredients adds to the cooking time (“duh”). 7. Add ½ tsp of salt & pepper to taste to the eggs and cream. 8. For vegetarian, I’ve used approx 3 oz of spinach (cooked in 1T water and drained) OR approx 3 oz of frozen broccoli florets instead of bacon. 9. For just a few cents more, I’ve found the Marie Callendar’s frozen pie crusts to be the best for this. 10. Right now I am making one with 2 oz frozen broccoli florets AND 2 oz bacon with cheddar cheese & frozen chopped onion. I let the pie crust, onion, and broccoli sit out of the freezer for 1 hour first…Pefrect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Hint: use the Sargento Parmesan/Romano shredded cheese, NOT grated parmesan cheese. You can really use any kind of cheese you prefer. Also, use the 2.8 oz. bag of Oscar Mayer bacon PIECES (available near bacon bits- but DON'T USE BACON BITS). Finally, to make it easier, Ore Ida makes frozen chopped onion (makes everything go quicker to not have to chop onions). Truth be told, you can use any cheese or other ingredients that you like in your quiche. It is very versatile! Hope this makes it easier and tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
564 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I omitted the cream, and used a 8oz pkg of cream cheese. I also used cheddar instead of the 2 cheeses called for. Instead of making 1 big tart, I made a mini ones to serve at an appie party. everyone LOVED them. Thanx a lot. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was a very very easy quiche to make, I was a virgin quiche baker (lol) and it came out FAB!!! I will definitely add this to my rotation of recipes. I added sauteed fresh mushrooms and green peppers. I used minced onions that I rehydrated since I didn't have an onion on hand and I used an Italian cheese blend. I followed all the other posts suggestions as well. I would like to note, though: place foil around the edges of your quiche when you bake it so the crusts don't overbake!!! Make this...it is simple and yummy!!! :)Thanks to the originator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This quiche is so quick and yummy! I usually just make it with a bag of shredded Italian cheese and leave out the onions because my kids don't like them. I also use the Oscar Meyer bacon pieces instead of bacon bits, or I use real bacon. And to keep the crust from getting too dark I wrap it with a bit of tinfoil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe is simply and easy. I like to saute the onions first and add a 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg. I also use 8 strips of crispy bacon instead of bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I just loved this quiche. Hadn't made one in years and decided to try again at hubby's prompting. Although I like swiss, it seems like it's often too strong in quiche, so I followed the recipe except used sharp cheddar in place of the swiss. Also I cooked the onion in EVOO (crisp/tender) first. I used an unroll and bake crust, layered in the cooked onion, cheeses (real shredded parmesan) and bacon pieces before pouring on the eggs as directed. Baked up perfectly, and was so tasty I couldn't stop eating it. I plan to add other ingred's in the future - maybe some cooked mushrooms or sundried tomatoes! And it was soooo easy and quick. This will definately be one of my regulars from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was awesome!! I added ham cubes and put 2.5 ounces mozzerella and 2.5 ounces swiss cheese. My kids loved it so much they asked if we could have it again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This quiche was just as described easy and delicious! Added in some mushrooms and used a smoky swiss and cheddar blend which gave the quiche a wonderful flavor. Also added my standby Tony Chachere's seasoning to give this a bit more of a kick. We found that the measurements for the cheese, onion and bacon mixture made quite alot and was enough for two quiches. Not a problem, we are happy to make another one tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe was a hit! My husband said it was one of the best things I have ever made him. I did change the bacon bits to six pieces of real bacon and I used about one and a half cup chedder cheese instead. I will be making this recipe again...tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States