Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Oh what a failure! Much too watery and underdone! The seasoning proportions are too much also... I saw that right away and just put what I thought was best. Had to drain dish and continue cooking to salvage the ingredients. I am new to this site and have only tried a few recipes (others were successful) and I have learned a valuable lesson-- read the reviews BEFORE attempting a recipe. This recipe is so bad and has to be doctored so much to be usable, it should be pulled from this site! Sure hope I am not invited to any of Miss BonnieB's impromptu dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
The Recipe as listed is incorrect, the amounts of salt and pepper should be in teaspoons NOT tablespoons, the recipe is not edible if you use Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I really liked these potatoes. However I made them for a party of 40 so they took forever to cook. Also they were really salty and almost bitter. I would suggest a different type of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this recipe because I didnt want to bother with making a milk/cheese mixture on the stove. I used smaller amounts of salt, just estimated to taste, and it was fine. I did use the olive oil on the bottom of the pan but did not have an issue with it coming out greasy. I also used pepperjack cheese for a kick. I did not have buttermilk so I used 2 percent. I also know that potatoes take forever to bake so I cooked it 30 minutes, stirred in some flour because it was a little soupy, and cooked for another 30 minutes. It turned out ok, but not impressed. I will eat the leftovers, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I read the recipe and noticed that the salt and pepper measurements seemed incorrect. But I'll cut that down when I try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
When this recipe finally got done, it was good. However, it needs a little tweeking. First, use teaspoons not tablespoons of salt and pepper. I used only three tsp of each because the cheese is salty. Next, it might be best to par-boil the potatoes first. I used a madolin and sliced the potatoes very thin, but it still took over an hour to cook. Next, raise the temp. about half way through to about 400deg. to get the mixture to bubble to help cook the potatoes. Also, I added a few slices of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I did half-portions of everything. I used about half the proportional amount of buttermilk and added the salt and pepper to taste after baking. Came out wonderfully after about an hour 15 and needed no salt or pepper for me. Thanks for the original recipe and thanks a lot for the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
almost a winner! I didn't taste the salt at all, i would recommend doubling up on the salt and maybe a shot of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I had already started preparing this recipe when I read the reviews. Instead of a quart of buttermilk, I used two cups (1 pint), reduced the salt and pepper (sounded like too much) and baked it for 60 minutes. The recipe turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I wish that I'd read the ratings & reviews on this one BEFORE I made it. First, it's way too salty and too liquidy. Even using kosher salt vs. regular salt, these proportions have to be way off. The cook time is off by at least 45 minutes. I had such high hopes and am really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States