Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I'm so sorry, I hate to give poor reviews, but these were not good at all. They were oily, salty and under cooked. I did try an excellent recipe on this site called Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes submitted by Cathy Martin which was great! I'd suggest to try that one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
The Recipe as listed is incorrect, the amounts of salt and pepper should be in teaspoons NOT tablespoons, the recipe is not edible if you use Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Recipe states 35 minutes for cooking but mine had barely started cooking at that point. After all was said and done, it was an hour and 15 minutes before the potatoes were tender. Flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe is awful. I did not read the reviews and have learned from my mistake. Took over two hours to cook, were watery and tasted terrible. Whole thing went into the trash. DO NOT try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I can't believe I didn't look at the reviews first before trying this recipe. Well, It is way too salty. I think I cooked mine in the past at 425 for 45 minutes not 35 because the temperature was too low. I needed to cook this for 2 hours. I used less than half the salt and it was still way too salty. I should have known better than to just follow this recipe blindly especially since I've made this countless times in the past. I'm using it for a Thanksgiving dinner at work and it's ruined. Thanks a lot. You should take this recipe off of this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe was awful. The buttermilk curdled, the potatoes never cooked...I am thankful to see that I was not the only one with problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OK I also made these BEFORE reading any reviews... oops. I agree that these are by far NOT the best au gratin i have had. I caught the mistake of the kosher salt thing right away, so it wasnt the salt. It was the cheese/milk sauce.... For me I think the biggest mistake here is not making a cheese rue/sauce on the stove first. Other recipes of au gratin potatoes call for that and are much better. More time, yes, but next time I will follow a recipe that does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
this recipes was awful. the potatoes never cooked and the sauce was oily and very salty. I should have read the reviews before making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Oh what a failure! Much too watery and underdone! The seasoning proportions are too much also... I saw that right away and just put what I thought was best. Had to drain dish and continue cooking to salvage the ingredients. I am new to this site and have only tried a few recipes (others were successful) and I have learned a valuable lesson-- read the reviews BEFORE attempting a recipe. This recipe is so bad and has to be doctored so much to be usable, it should be pulled from this site! Sure hope I am not invited to any of Miss BonnieB's impromptu dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND WAS NOT HAPPY. AFTER ONE HOUR AND FIFTEEN MINUTES COOKING THE POTATOES WERE NOT COOKED AND THERE WAS FAR TOO MUCH LIQUID. THIS WAS A VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States