Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Way too much salt and pepper and too soupy. Maybe adding some flour may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I made this for Easter and it was absolutely awful......I don't know if it was teh buttermilk or the sharp cheese ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
The Recipe as listed is incorrect, the amounts of salt and pepper should be in teaspoons NOT tablespoons, the recipe is not edible if you use Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I wish that I'd read the ratings & reviews on this one BEFORE I made it. First, it's way too salty and too liquidy. Even using kosher salt vs. regular salt, these proportions have to be way off. The cook time is off by at least 45 minutes. I had such high hopes and am really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I did half-portions of everything. I used about half the proportional amount of buttermilk and added the salt and pepper to taste after baking. Came out wonderfully after about an hour 15 and needed no salt or pepper for me. Thanks for the original recipe and thanks a lot for the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I microwaved the potatoes first before putting in the dish with the cheese. I only put a light sprinkling of salt and pepper as the amounts stated seemed ridiculous! It came out very liquidy, however the flavor was good. I think that if I had added all that salt it would have been awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Not only did it take forever to cook, even after an hour and 15 minutes it was too liquidy. Also, my family could not stand the overpowering salt and pepper. Is that supposed to be teaspoons instead of tablespoons? It was incredibly disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I was not impressed with this recipe. I cut down the recipe quite a bit, to feed only five. I also used Garlic Pepper, rather then plain pepper. It came out watery, not creamy, like Au Gratin potatoes should be. I also cooked it an hour at 400* hoping to crisp it up on top, it didn't work, the potatoes weren't even cooked all the way through, and they were cut 1/4 inch to 1/8 inch thick. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND WAS NOT HAPPY. AFTER ONE HOUR AND FIFTEEN MINUTES COOKING THE POTATOES WERE NOT COOKED AND THERE WAS FAR TOO MUCH LIQUID. THIS WAS A VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This recipe was ready after 1 1/2 hours in the oven. It was way too salty and very watery. I had to pitch the leftovers. Don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States