Easy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this recipe because I didnt want to bother with making a milk/cheese mixture on the stove. I used smaller amounts of salt, just estimated to taste, and it was fine. I did use the olive oil on the bottom of the pan but did not have an issue with it coming out greasy. I also used pepperjack cheese for a kick. I did not have buttermilk so I used 2 percent. I also know that potatoes take forever to bake so I cooked it 30 minutes, stirred in some flour because it was a little soupy, and cooked for another 30 minutes. It turned out ok, but not impressed. I will eat the leftovers, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I cannot believe I didn't read the reviews first! My potatoes cooked for over 2 hours!!! I was SO disappointed by this! Flavorwise, they were ok, but I added cheese inbetween the layers which helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Shame on me for not reading the reviews ! This was inedible and a waste of food and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybee
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
DON'T! I eliminated most of the salt. Turned out more of a milky/cheesy potatoe soup. Edible ... barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OK I also made these BEFORE reading any reviews... oops. I agree that these are by far NOT the best au gratin i have had. I caught the mistake of the kosher salt thing right away, so it wasnt the salt. It was the cheese/milk sauce.... For me I think the biggest mistake here is not making a cheese rue/sauce on the stove first. Other recipes of au gratin potatoes call for that and are much better. More time, yes, but next time I will follow a recipe that does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I actually made this and looked at the other reviews after. It wasn't awful as some described it, but it does need to cook longer. I used russets, and since I didn't have buttermilk, made my own with 2% milk + vinegar. My family thought the flavors were good & I added some garlic salt to it also. I think it is a usable recipe, just increase the cooking time(I went 40 minutes and the potatoes that I had sliced in the food processor), were still a bit crunchy, but not unpleasantly. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
As others have said, the potatoes had barely started cooking at the end of 35 minutes....I didn't even attempt the tablespoons of salt because I knew that had to have been a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This dish wasn't too bad, considering the salt/pepper portions were way off!! I learned to drain the potatoes more before cooking. I had potato soup instead of a nice potato casserole I was hoping for. It was alittle salty, & I only used 3tbps salt/pepper. Know I know to change the portion to tsp. But everyone ate them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I had already started preparing this recipe when I read the reviews. Instead of a quart of buttermilk, I used two cups (1 pint), reduced the salt and pepper (sounded like too much) and baked it for 60 minutes. The recipe turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I read the reviews after I'd already started to prepare this, and was worried. Fortunately, I didn't follow the instructions to a tee... I used cooking spray on the dish, and it was not too greasy. I thought just salt and pepper was too bland, so I added onions and just lightly sprinkled with salt, garlic powder, and parsley. I alternated cheddar and pamesan cheeses. I didn't parboil as someone suggested, but 25 minutes in a 1300 watt microwave did fine, it just needed a little more milk (even though people said it was watery... Could that be due to the low humidity where I live?). It tasted pretty good my way, but next time I'll stick with my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a la Martinique

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States