Easy Asian Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
OK, here's the scoop. My SIL is Phillipino and when she or we make her egg roll recipe, all we use to dip them in is vinegar. We love it which is the reason I'm rating this a five. So, for eggrolls, this recipe is perfect for us. However, tonight I made this for Asian Lettuce Wraps and I have to agree with Matt in that there was too much vinegar for what we were using it for. I only used a tablespoon and it was perfect. I also subbed Hoisin Sauce for the honey. Thank you Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Made this to go with cherry chicken lettuce wraps from this site. It was the perfect complement. A little on the salty side so I did cut it with a little water. I think if I use low sodium soy sauce it would be fine. I also cut back on the vinegar just a tad b/c of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was really good! I followed the recipe and added about a cup of packed brown sugar to cut the vinegar. I didn't have fresh ginger but powdered tasted great. I spooned it over a stir-fry, asian pork, and jasmine rice and it was awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum! I didn't find the vinegar at all overpowering, unlike some other reviewers. It all worked very well together. Served as a dipping sauce for Edamame-Stuffed Wontons from this site. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is really good! I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used ground instead (I think fresh would have been better). I also added some red pepper flakes. This sauce is GREAT with pot stickers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very tasty and really easy! What's not to like? We used it with steamed pork buns and potstickers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Fantastic sauce. I added a little more chili sauce to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Quick (I don't even think it took the 15 minutes noted), easy and a great compliment to the lettuce wraps we dipped in it. I did scale back the vinegar quite a bit in this using not quite a 1/4 cup, and we thought it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a great, simple sauce. So easy to make. If you want to give it a little zing, just add some red pepper flakes like I did. I don't think it will be good with lettuce wraps, but for gyoza or egg rolls, or anything fried it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States