Easy As Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I make a miniature version by placing using biscuits and ramekins so everyone can have the perfect amount of crust (top and bottom!). I peel flaky style Grand's biscuits in half, place 1 half in bottom of each ramekin, bake for 6 minutes, fill with pot pie mixture and top with the other half of the biscuit and bake for 10-12 minutes. This is the perfect pot pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I used one cup milk, one cup broth. Added potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was extremely tasty. I used some extras to make sure that there were enough flavors. I cooked diced potatoes and carrots (I didn't have any frozen) and then used a cup of the cooking water and added a chicken bullion cube. I substituted that cup of water for a cup of the milk. I also sauteed an onion with some chopped garlic and added that to the mix. For the crust I used low fat crescent rolls. Of course, now I don't know how the original recipe would be without my modifications but this will absolutely become a staple for me!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thanks for the recipe! I didnt follow exactly because I didnt have everything called for and also just to suit our tastes. I'm rating it a 5 because I'm sure it would taste just as good if followed to the T, and it is also a good idea and a good base recipe if you're picky :) I used frozen peas, fresh carrots and garlic and potatoes and microwaved covered with a little water about 5 minutes to steam all the veggies. Didn't have thyme, used 21 seasoning blend and eyeballed it. had about 1/2 cup leftover turkey gravy which my mom made for thanksgiving, used that, about 1/2 cup vegetable broth and 1 cup milk for the sauce and added flour till thickened. I also used the butter, juices and bits scraped from the pan I used to cook the chicken instead of using the 2tb butter. It was so so good! My husband who isnt crazy about chicken, loved it so much, he ate half of the pie! One more thing, I didnt bother with the cutting and weaving the crust. I just baked it till barely browning on sides and then laid it over the top of the dish with the corners hanging over the sides. Looked great that way too. Sorry for not rating the original recipe but i will try it that way too, it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
A LOW FAT VERSION! I took left over chicken and added a ton of veggies.. then sauteed onions and garlic and added a little butter and oil and flour..then used condensed skim milk and spices added that to the milk and poured it over the veggie/chicken mixture.. I topped it with mashed potatoes instead of pastry dough..YUMMY!! THANKS SO MUCH! Great for this rainy cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doree'
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was looking for a pot pie recipe that didn't include cream soups or broth, since I had neither. This recipe fit the bill and was absolutely fantastic! It was shockingly delicious. I had to change a few things. Since I didn't have puff pastry I made pie crusts instead. Baked the bottom crust in the pie pan at 350 for 15 mn, then added the filling and covered it with the top crust. I also only had canned veggies. I used green beans, corn and sliced potates (from the can) cut up. I just added the veggies directly from the can to the creamed mixture. My family couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good pot pie ! Use pie crust dough it cost less and not googy on the bottom. frozen pastry puff dough cost more and the bottom of pie gets googy. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I doubled this recipe, making the recommended substitution of half the specified milk for low sodium chicken stock. I also made two pies, one with celery substituted for the peas. The peas offered a much better flavor, of course. I also highly recommend just making the filling and serving this with bread sticks, as I accidentally did. The results were subversive, tasty, and well worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I did season the chicken a little more and also added potatoes and one can of cream of mushroom soup. Everything stayed the same and can't wait to eat some more tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This is soooo easy, quite delicious and well thought out. I love Pot Pie, and this is at the top of my list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States