Easy As Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was extremely tasty. I used some extras to make sure that there were enough flavors. I cooked diced potatoes and carrots (I didn't have any frozen) and then used a cup of the cooking water and added a chicken bullion cube. I substituted that cup of water for a cup of the milk. I also sauteed an onion with some chopped garlic and added that to the mix. For the crust I used low fat crescent rolls. Of course, now I don't know how the original recipe would be without my modifications but this will absolutely become a staple for me!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Time out on the Thyme! I would have given this 4 stars but 1 tsp. of thyme was way too much. It overpowered the other flavors in this dish. I may make it again, but will half the amount. I added a buillion cube to the milk mixture for added flavor and I used pie crust instead of puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I make a miniature version by placing using biscuits and ramekins so everyone can have the perfect amount of crust (top and bottom!). I peel flaky style Grand's biscuits in half, place 1 half in bottom of each ramekin, bake for 6 minutes, fill with pot pie mixture and top with the other half of the biscuit and bake for 10-12 minutes. This is the perfect pot pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
this was good but potatos are a must and i added sour crean and a can of cream of mushroom and a little more seasoning instead of milk and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebushl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe was okay. The filling is a little bland. I used a store bought pie crust instead of the puff pastry for a more traditional pot pie. I will make again but I will take advise and add potatoes and use chicken broth as part of the liquid:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I used one cup milk, one cup broth. Added potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Eh... I think that the puff pastry gave it a good texture, but the actual filling was a little bland... maybe a little too easy. But it tasted decent, at least we aren't starving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I used the filling of this recipe and baked it in a more typical chicken pot pie. It was tasty but could do with some extra flavor. I'd try condensed soup to substitute half the milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was definitely simple to make, I just didn't love the crust on top. I guess I usually like the more traditional biscuit top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I did season the chicken a little more and also added potatoes and one can of cream of mushroom soup. Everything stayed the same and can't wait to eat some more tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States