Easy As Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was extremely tasty. I used some extras to make sure that there were enough flavors. I cooked diced potatoes and carrots (I didn't have any frozen) and then used a cup of the cooking water and added a chicken bullion cube. I substituted that cup of water for a cup of the milk. I also sauteed an onion with some chopped garlic and added that to the mix. For the crust I used low fat crescent rolls. Of course, now I don't know how the original recipe would be without my modifications but this will absolutely become a staple for me!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Time out on the Thyme! I would have given this 4 stars but 1 tsp. of thyme was way too much. It overpowered the other flavors in this dish. I may make it again, but will half the amount. I added a buillion cube to the milk mixture for added flavor and I used pie crust instead of puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I make a miniature version by placing using biscuits and ramekins so everyone can have the perfect amount of crust (top and bottom!). I peel flaky style Grand's biscuits in half, place 1 half in bottom of each ramekin, bake for 6 minutes, fill with pot pie mixture and top with the other half of the biscuit and bake for 10-12 minutes. This is the perfect pot pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
this was good but potatos are a must and i added sour crean and a can of cream of mushroom and a little more seasoning instead of milk and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebushl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe was okay. The filling is a little bland. I used a store bought pie crust instead of the puff pastry for a more traditional pot pie. I will make again but I will take advise and add potatoes and use chicken broth as part of the liquid:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I used one cup milk, one cup broth. Added potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Eh... I think that the puff pastry gave it a good texture, but the actual filling was a little bland... maybe a little too easy. But it tasted decent, at least we aren't starving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I used the filling of this recipe and baked it in a more typical chicken pot pie. It was tasty but could do with some extra flavor. I'd try condensed soup to substitute half the milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was definitely simple to make, I just didn't love the crust on top. I guess I usually like the more traditional biscuit top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I did season the chicken a little more and also added potatoes and one can of cream of mushroom soup. Everything stayed the same and can't wait to eat some more tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States