Easy As Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I doubled this recipe, making the recommended substitution of half the specified milk for low sodium chicken stock. I also made two pies, one with celery substituted for the peas. The peas offered a much better flavor, of course. I also highly recommend just making the filling and serving this with bread sticks, as I accidentally did. The results were subversive, tasty, and well worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
was very tasty, although I would definitely try it with chicken broth or mushroom soup next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Recipe doesn't specify to prepare puff pastry with butter between the layers, so I didn't do that. It was awful to work with, and there was no way I could create a lattice! I ended up with a pile of layers on top of my chicken/veggie mixture, and drizzled melted butter over all of it to keep the pastry from drying out. It all tasted fine, but I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Banner Elk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was looking for a pot pie recipe that didn't include cream soups or broth, since I had neither. This recipe fit the bill and was absolutely fantastic! It was shockingly delicious. I had to change a few things. Since I didn't have puff pastry I made pie crusts instead. Baked the bottom crust in the pie pan at 350 for 15 mn, then added the filling and covered it with the top crust. I also only had canned veggies. I used green beans, corn and sliced potates (from the can) cut up. I just added the veggies directly from the can to the creamed mixture. My family couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We did enjoy this pot pie because of the use of the puff pastry as the crust instead of the traditional pie crust. I did use fresh vegetables instead of frozen (carrots, potatoes and broccoli) and I boiled the chicken because I wanted it to be shredded instead of in chunks. Also, next time I will add more spices (garlic powder or crushed garlic, sage,etc..) because it was a little bland. I think it is a great starter recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe!! I was looking for a low sodium recipe and was worried that this one would be too bland, as it did not include cream of soup, or broth. To my surprise, this was the best pot pie I've ever had! I didn't have any thyme, but used a few pinches of garlic powder and was great. I also didn't cook the frozen veggies or crust prior to baking. I cooked chicken, then melted the butter, added the flour and milk, veggies, and cooked chicken. Mixed all together, poured into 8x8 pan, and put pie crust over and then baked. Next time I will add some potatoes, which I would recommend cooking a bit prior. My husband and 6 yr old daugher are very picky, and they both had seconds! This will be made weekly in my house. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thanks for the recipe! I didnt follow exactly because I didnt have everything called for and also just to suit our tastes. I'm rating it a 5 because I'm sure it would taste just as good if followed to the T, and it is also a good idea and a good base recipe if you're picky :) I used frozen peas, fresh carrots and garlic and potatoes and microwaved covered with a little water about 5 minutes to steam all the veggies. Didn't have thyme, used 21 seasoning blend and eyeballed it. had about 1/2 cup leftover turkey gravy which my mom made for thanksgiving, used that, about 1/2 cup vegetable broth and 1 cup milk for the sauce and added flour till thickened. I also used the butter, juices and bits scraped from the pan I used to cook the chicken instead of using the 2tb butter. It was so so good! My husband who isnt crazy about chicken, loved it so much, he ate half of the pie! One more thing, I didnt bother with the cutting and weaving the crust. I just baked it till barely browning on sides and then laid it over the top of the dish with the corners hanging over the sides. Looked great that way too. Sorry for not rating the original recipe but i will try it that way too, it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
A LOW FAT VERSION! I took left over chicken and added a ton of veggies.. then sauteed onions and garlic and added a little butter and oil and flour..then used condensed skim milk and spices added that to the milk and poured it over the veggie/chicken mixture.. I topped it with mashed potatoes instead of pastry dough..YUMMY!! THANKS SO MUCH! Great for this rainy cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doree'
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good pot pie ! Use pie crust dough it cost less and not googy on the bottom. frozen pastry puff dough cost more and the bottom of pie gets googy. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I enjoyed this pot pie, but that is because (after tasting the filling) I added some MUCH NEEDED touch ups to it. In addition to the Thyme I also added in some Tarragon, white pepper, onion powder & garlic powder; without such additions it was VERY bland. I also boiled up 2 potatoes and threw those in there as well. The use of the puff pastry tasted really good & was a great idea too; loved that part. All in all, a great concept, but needed alot of tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States